Archive for May 16, 2007

I found an excellent article on how fat cells work.  Here is a paragraph or two from the main article.  It is well worth reading.

“A typical young male adult stores about 60,000 to 100,000 calories of energy in body fat cells. What triggers the release of all these stored fatty acids from the fat cell? Simple: When your body needs energy because you’re consuming fewer calories than you are burning (an energy deficit), then your body releases hormones and enzymes that signal your fat cells to release your fat reserves instead of keeping them in storage….

Some people are genetically predisposed to have more fat cells than others and women have more fat cells than men. An infant usually has about 5 – 6 billion fat cells. This number increases during early childhood and puberty, and a healthy adult with normal body composition has about 25 to 30 billion fat cells. A typical overweight adult has around 75 billion fat cells. But in the case of severe obesity, this number can be as high as 250 to 300 billion!”

I want to read more… 

I know I promised I wasn’t going to weigh myself for two weeks.  Here we are three days into the challenge and I couldn’t resist.  So, while the bad news is that I failed to keep my promise, the good news is that I now weigh in at 173.8lbs.
While my O.C.D. isn’t serious, it is enough to be quite frustrating.  I think I inherited this problem from my parents.  My mother can’t leave the house without checking the burners on the stove at least four times.  My father uses boiled water to clean his toothbrush every time before brushing.

What about my O.C.D.?  Well it takes several different forms.  Every since I started this weight loss journey, most of the time I’ve been weighing in about three to four times a day.  But it goes beyond that.  I also feel the need to check my car’s emergency brake repeatedly during any ride in the car- same thing with the door lock button.

So while I am not opening and closing every door three times, or arranging everything around me in an orderly manner (I am actually quite the opposite), this mild form of O.C.D. is bothersome enough.