Update: All is Going Well

Posted: January 9, 2011 in fat, fat loss, health, Me, my life, weight, Weight loss
Tags: , , , , ,

Here is a screen capture of my MedHelp account; a very helpful website with lots of useful trackers.  Since December 26th, 2010, I’ve dropped 7.6 pounds, 1.5 inches from my waist, and about 3% off my body fat percentage.    I feel better, I am not hungry all the time, and I have much more control over my nutritional choices.

My day-to-day nutrition now involves a lot more fruits and vegetables.  I especially enjoy a nice fruit salad of pears, raspberries, strawberries, and blueberries.   About 80% of the meat and dairy I (and my family) consume are now from local organic farms that don’t use hormones.  The beef and lamb are grass-fed too.  The chicken, turkey, and eggs are all local and free range.  I’ve also switched over to whole milk (instead of 2% or skim).  The basic calorie math doesn’t make up for the filling effects and better nutritional balance of whole milk.  I will also, once I invest in a better cooler, start purchasing kefir from our local (read 40 minutes away) Whole Food’s as a sometimes replacement for Whole Milk.    Our fridge is also stocked with plenty of cow and goat cheeses from local farms.

I’ve also upped my intake of salads and various vegetables.  While I am not enamored with the idea of raw diets (Especially 100% raw diets) I have increased my consumption of raw foods from a very low-level to more around 50%.

It goes without saying that many of the processed foods have vanished from my pantry and fridge.  And to be honest, I can’t complain.  I am enjoying my food more, and my stomach is definitely happier about my change in diet.     I am looking forward to seeing where I am by Feb. 1, 2011.  No goals, no stress, I plan on just sticking with healthy eating and exercise and seeing where it gets me.

Comments
  1. Rheana says:

    I think what you are doing is awesome, and it’s fantastic that you are doing so well!! My mom and I are trying to lose weight together in the hopes of participating in Bloomsday! I wish you the best of luck in your journey, keep it up! Everyone ows it to themselves!

  2. rkbaker says:

    Congratulations on coming so far!!! I am totally against processed foods as well. So good for you.

  3. Tom says:

    Keep up the great work.
    You are inspiring me to get off my backside and make the changes I need to.
    Well Done.

Leave a Reply

