Alternate Day Diet: “Down Day” Nutrition/”Up Day” Nutrition

Posted: August 28, 2010 in Food, health, Me
Tags: , , ,

I am working my way through my second day of the Alternate Day Diet.  I wouldn’t call it working though since today has been a breeze.  You see, today is my up day.  I can eat whatever I want whenever I want.  I have chosen to stick with healthy foods, but I am consciously ignoring calories today.  You heard that right, I am completely ignoring calories.  I don’t have to count them at all!  Heck I just baked (although as easy as it was to make I can hardly call it baking) some muffins and had a few.

[Easiest Muffin Recipe EVER: 1 box of devil’s food cake mix, 1 15 oz. can of 100% pure pumpkin (no added sugar).  Mix.  Bake.  Eat.  Told you it was easy.]

And although I knew today would be easy, I didn’t expect yesterday to go as well as it did.  Heck, the book claims the first day should be the hardest.   I didn’t find it all that hard.  I did my best to fit a lot of food into the allotted 500 calories.  It worked out to:

  • Breakfast: Nothing (fasting for blood test)
  • Snack: Nothing (still fasting)
  • Lunch: 24 hour protein shake (120 calories)
  • Snack: Miso Soup (35 calories)
  • Dinner: A bean and lentil in tomato based soup with Miso soup on the side (extra seaweed added in), and a mini cucumber.   (165 calories)
  • Snack: Protein shake (120 calories)
  • Overall 15 cups of water

Not bad and NO major hunger difficulties to report.

Today (my “up day”) I had:

  • Breakfast: Kashi Honey Almond Flax Crunch, unsweetened shredded coconut, and 1/2 a serving of 70% dark chocolate
  • Snack: Post-workout shake (mix of carbs and protein)
  • Lunch: 2 pita pizzas (Joseph’s pita base, olive oil, part-skim mozzarella shredded cheese (not a lot),  feta cheese crumbles, diced onion, diced green peppers [from my garden], sliced tomatoes [from my garden], diced spinach, mushrooms, 2 cloves garlic, and a little less than two strips worth of bacon crumbled on top.
  • Snack: Pumpkin/Devil’s Food cake muffins (mentioned above)
  • Dinner: Hamburger with ketchup, onions, lettuce, tomatoes, and pickles with a side of broccoli
  • Snack: Post workout protein shake
  • Water: About 10 cups thus far (I had to mow the lawn today) and probably another 5 or 6 before bed).

I am thus far enjoying this experience.  Let’s see how the next few days go (especially tomorrow).  I am also really excited about getting back the results of my blood work.  Kind of like a kid at Christmas, which is sort of disturbing….even to me.

Tomorrow’s post:  My Double-Down Workout Solution

Leave a Reply

