Starting Tomorrow: A New Plan

Posted: August 26, 2010 in health, Me
Tags: , , , ,

I have tried a lot of different plans over the course of my online health experiment.  I’ve done everything from the velocity diet to simple balanced meals.  Low-fat, low-carb, no-carb; I’ve done them all.   Well, I am going to try something new starting tomorrow.  Tomorrow I will begin experimenting with the Alternate Day Diet.   The general idea is that calorie deprivation every other day not only leads to a caloric deficit, but activates certain healthy cellular level responses (no doubt explained by the whole “hunter-gatherers didn’t eat well every day” kind of argument).  “Down days” of 400 calories or less are balanced out by up days when one can eat freely (relatively speaking).  In theory such should help with the usual problems of most diets and or caloric restriction plans- a rapidly plummeting metabolism that adapts to low calorie intake.  Also, the nutritional plan is supposed to help me (or you) achieve the benefits of caloric restriction without making you look like the people who are on caloric restriction diets (think Christian Bale in the Machinist).

My father speaks very highly of the nutritional plan contained in the book, so I figured I would give it a shot for 2 weeks.  Of course this means I will have to juggle my workout schedule around, as I can’t possibly do my usual workouts on any of my “down” (400 calorie) days.  If nothing else it will be an interesting experience.  I will of course keep you updated.  I will take measurements tomorrow morning (along with pictures) and we will see how far I can go in 2 weeks.

Leave a Reply

