Resolutions

Posted: December 31, 2009 in Exercise, exercise equipment, finances, health
Tags: , , , , ,

So here comes a new year.  So many chances to embrace constructive change.  If only I had more control over some of the things I wanted to change, like, I resolve not to catch either a cold or the flu this year.  But those type of things aside I’ve embraced the following resolutions:

We will maintain budgetary discipline.  How?

  • We will use cash only to make purchases.
  • We will leave our debit cards in the car wherever we go. (accessible for emergencies but inaccessible for impulse buys)
  • Only one dinner out per month.
  • Make and live by a budget.
  • Allison will be in charge of meal planning and grocery shopping (we found that too many chefs in the store led to too much waste in the refrigerator).

I will reestablish physical and nutritional discipline.  How?

  • Back to a high protein, low carb lifestyle.
  • Make my high water intake more consistent.
  • Get back to my tires and sandbag.
  • Get on Freecycle and find more outdoor equipment (I am thinking of an old barbell and some old weight plates).
  • Aside from Jan. 1st, I will cut back on sleeping in and late bed times.  Not to mention 7 hours of sleep a night.
  • Be more consistent with recording my nutritional intake and exercise.  I am much better at journaling workouts than I am nutrition.  Could be because writing down reps is a good way to get rest between sets, I usually don’t have to rest between bites- if I did that would mean I was disturbingly out of shape.

Goals to achieve by December 31st, 2010

  • Publish article
  • Get 1/2 way through my dissertation
  • 100 consecutive push-ups/sit-ups
  • 55lb Turkish get-up (@10 reps)/50 burpees/12 chin-ups (or 1 one-arm chin-up)
  • Design or build at least 3 new workout toys in the backyard (Keg full of sand is my next project plus replacing my broken slosh bar)
  • Weigh in at between 159 and 165lbs
  • 31 inch waist or less
  • Lower cholesterol
  • Run a 6 minute mile
  • Not essential, but it would be nice: rediscover my six-pack mid-section.

How about you?

Comments
  1. Adam U. says:

    Okay, I’ve run across your site twice now while I was looking for other guys who wanted to train for ninja warrior. I find myself doing lots of similar exercises on rest days, why not see if it’s possible to train entirely in this manner, you know?

    I’m now officially watching this spot. Let’s see it man, let’s see if you can bang out 100 consecutive push-ups. How many can you do now? How far away is that goal?

    – Adam

  2. Right now I can do between 45 and 55 push-ups without resting-depends on the day. But from experience I can say it is a lot harder to work form 50 to 100 than it is to go from 10 to 50. You might want to check out my post from a while back

    https://totaltransformation.wordpress.com/2007/05/30/how-many-push-ups-does-it-take-to-get-to-the-center-of-an-awesome-upper-body/

    I think the hardest part of push ups is the monotony that sets in around rep #30 or so. So I often like to change style during a set and plan a set of 40-50 reps with three different types of push ups included in the set.

    Also the link doesn’t mention my favorite form of push-up (also one of the most difficult), the complete plyiometric push up. The exercise involves using all your strength to push not only your hands but also your toes off the floor at the same time. These can be killer.

Leave a Reply

