On-The-Go: Avoiding Bread @ Subway Without Being Forced to Eat a Salad….

Posted: August 23, 2009 in fat loss, health, Me, nutrition, weight, Weight loss
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve spend the summer neglecting every good bit of nutritional advice I’ve ever received, and as a result I feel bloated, tired, and “ick.”  So as of yesterday I got back on the nutritional wagon.  As per my trainers instructions:

“[Eat] fresh vegetables (no root vegetables or squash), berries, small amounts of nuts & seeds, unprocessed animal protein, unprocessed fats, salt, spices, coffee with cream, tea, water and 1 tbsp of fish oil per day.”

So I planned all my meals out for today.  But as we know the best laid plans often go straight down the toilet. My plans went down the drain thanks to a severe thunderstorm that left our family stranded in the local Wal-mart until lunch time today.  The only food place there was subway, and as we all know, if you want something that doesn’t come on bread (and isn’t a salad), Subway ain’t the best place to eat.  So after reviewing the menu several times, my frustration finally eased when I saw a steak and cheese omelet sub.  I ordered the sub with double steak, part-skim mozzarella, tomatoes, green peppers, onions, and spinach.  I ditched the bread in the trash and laid out the omelet et al. on the table in front of me.  It was quite delicious, and despite the VERY user unfriendly nutritional info at the Subway website (they won’t let you deduct or add specific ingredients)   I was able, with a little math, to guesstimate my nutritional intake at around:

  • 400 calories
  • 9g carbs
  • 37 protein
  • 18g fat

Sounds good to me.  Not ideal, but the best alternative.

Comments
  1. timbob says:

    Good morning. I was just wandering around some of the “old stomping grounds” so to speak and thought to stop in here. I pray that all is going well for you and your household.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

Leave a Reply

