Training Log 7/19/09: Conquering the Drive Way…

Posted: July 19, 2009 in Exercise, fitness, fitness challenge, fitness journal, training log
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Everything from the cameria 003I decided to bring back my old training logs.  Why?  Well, I enjoy posting about my workouts on here and I like that fact that they keep me honest.

Sunday are always a fun workout for me.  Sundays = sprint training in my house.  Not just ordinary old sprint training but balls to the wall up a steep sloped driveway digging my heels into the pavement kind of training.  The driveway is about 40 yards and the cul-de-sac is another 30 or so yards.  Starting from the other side of the cul-de-sac I sprint across the flat pavement then up my driveway–over and over and over again.  All in all about 17 or so times.  There is no set number, just however many sprints I can fit within 20 minutes.  

Usually the sprints take anywhere from 20-30 seconds (I’m not that fast even at top speed).  I don’t set rest limits by seconds, instead I go by heart rate.  When my H.R. falls to 110-125 bpm I start all over again.  To get my heart back down to 125 or so all it takes is a moderate paced walk down the driveway and an extra 10 seconds of rest- usually.  Toward the end of the workout it can take longer.  Today’s workout went 20 minutes with a 3 minute cool down walk.  My max heart rate was 176 bpm, and my average heart rate ranged from 125 to 168.  Not bad.

Comments
  1. That’s one heck of a workout! I think if people read this and don’t know what hardcore training is like they’ll think to themselves, “oh, 20 minutes … easy”.

    Yeah, then try doing it for 5 minutes and you are just about dead … 20 is amazing. This is intense training. Nice work.

  2. Neat workout! I’ll have to try that on my driveway. 🙂

    Glad to see you blogging again. 🙂

  3. Glad to see your still reading. 😉 Keep on visiting since I think this blog might pick up over the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

