KickAssLogoYou haven’t really worked out until you’ve put together an exercise routine that has made you curse the day you were born, beg for mercy, and fear that a heart attack was imminent.  That pretty much describes what I did yesterday.  At some point two days ago I thought, “basic H.I.T. isn’t enough, I need a little something more.”  So, I thought, what if I eliminated the rest breaks and performed 3 rounds of 5-6 minutes of activity with NO rest during each round.    The idea struck me as a good one as I sat in my computer chair- I would later regret this whole line of thought.

So what was the workout?  Well, it looks simple enough on paper until you try to run through, balls to the wall style, with no rest in between.

  • Sledge Hammer Drills (one minute each side)
  • Tire Flips (one minute)
  • Squat Jump onto huge tire (30 seconds)
  • Push-ups (30 seconds)
  • Squat Jumps (sans tire) (3o seconds)
  • Step-ups with hands on huge tire (1 minute)
  • Sandbag Press (about 85-90lbs) (1 minute)

After I completed the first round I knew that I would either puke or have a heart attack soon enough.  So I kept the intensity up the next round but added in 30 second rests between exercises and cut out the squat jumps onto the tire (as my tired legs were making them dangerous).  I did a final round with 30 seconds all out periods of activity with 60 seconds rest in between.  I am hoping to build up to doing all three rounds with only 3 minutes rest between rounds.  That might take a while though.

Oh, did I mention I did interval runs that morning?  Six thirty-second all-out sprints with 120 second rest in between each sprint.  The whole thing took about 25 minutes.

What will the next training session look like?  Who knows.  I have some speed and agility stuff I want to throw in.  So it could look very different.

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    At the risk of being a buzzkill I need to ask something. While I’m all for intensity and variety, do you find these routines to be successful / sustainable for the long term?

  2. Like all things in life they work best when cycled. You can’t go at 100% intensity 100% of the time. I am always aware of over training and that is why I shake things up so often. I should be able to work up to 3 6 minute rounds over time (my guess it will take about two to three months).

    And don’t worry about being a buzz kill. I think that is part of the job description for your career path. 😉

  3. DR says:

    You sir are a masochist.

    Well done

  4. Hua says:

    Hi John,

    My gosh that sounds intense! Hope it works well.

    I’m Hua, the director of Wellsphere’s HealthBlogger Network, a network of over 2,000 of the best health writers on the web (including doctors, nurses, healthy living professionals, and expert patients). I think your blog would be a great addition to the Network, and I’d like to invite you to learn more about it and apply to join at http://www.wellsphere.com/health-blogger. Once approved by our Chief Medical Officer, your posts will be republished on Wellsphere where they will be available to over 5 million monthly visitors who come to the site looking for health information and support. There’s no cost and no extra work for you! The HealthBlogger page (http://www.wellsphere.com/health-blogger) provides details about participation, but if you have any questions please feel free to email me at hua@wellsphere.com.

    Best,
    Hua

Leave a Reply

