Day 22: Weight Training and Running in One Day…

Posted: January 23, 2009 in fat, fat loss, fitness, health, life, Me, my life, velocity diet, weight, weight lifting
Tags: , , , , ,

I hate days like this!  Weights and interval training definitely shouldn’t be combined- unless you want to put your body in serious fits of pain.  What can I say though, I am a sucker for a challenging workout.

I won’t include the details of my weight training session this morning.  Suffice it to say it went very well.  About 30 minutes of serious intense training with few rest periods between exercises.  Although, the gym had its share of annoying resolution keepers still hanging in there and getting in my way.

My interval run this afternoon was interesting. I started out feeling a bit off.  I wasn’t feeling the sprints and couldn’t quite drive my intensity level up.  So after 3 30 second sprints I decided to cut back to doing 15 second sprints, followed by 30 seconds of walking and 15 seconds of jogging, then back into a sprint.  I cycled like that for about 8 minutes.  The workout lasted 25 minutes with a 4 minute warm up and cool down on each end.

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    That is a tough combo. I do my legs the same day as I do 25 min. of the recumbant bike, but that is much easier than running.

  2. Teresa says:

    Here’s an old entry I did about New Years REsolutionistas:

    http://www.anomalousdata.com/NewYearsResolutionist+Gym+Noobs.aspx

  3. Nevd says:

    I tend to agree… weight training and intervals aren’t a good mix.

    Years ago, when I was superfit and still overweight, I used to overexercise like that. I concluded that the cardio mixed with weights tended to nullify any possible muscle gains. It certainly didn’t seem to consume body fat!

    BTW, do you ensure that you have a protein drink either just before or just after your weights? Try it and see if you like the results.

Leave a Reply

