Day 7: Velocity Diet: OUCH!, My Shins…

Posted: January 8, 2009 in fat, fat loss, fitness, health, life, Me, my life, velocity diet, weight lifting, Weight loss
Tags: , , , , , , ,

fail-owned-elephant-slide-fEver had one of these days (I think the picture says it all)?  Well, okay, my day wasn’t that bad.  However it could have been much better.  I had planned more interval training and grip strength training for today.  Yet, a combination of powerful winds, rain, and my aching shins kept me inside.

Just Another Protein Filled Day…

Well this is getting old, so I will keep it short and simple.  I had nothing but protein shakes today with the exception of six pieces of bacon for dinner tonight (alongside a 12-hour Elite protein shake).  Yup, just protein shakes and supplements.

As far as exercise goes, today was not a total bust.  Yeah, I missed out on interval training.  But my shins were aching so bad that I didn’t want to aggravate any injury the high impacting sprinting might have caused.  I thought discretion the better part of valor and settled on just working on grip strength tonight.  That being said, here is the workout I used:

Grip Strength Training

  • 50lbs resistance grip tool, 12 reps on each hand with a 2 second hold
  • expand-your-hand bands, 12 reps each hand (level one resistance)
  • 50lbs resistance grip tool, 6 reps on each hand with a 6 second hold
  • expand-your-hand bands, 12 reps each hand (level two resistance)
  • 50lbs resistance grip tool, 2 reps each hand with a 30 second hold
  • expand-your-hand bands, 2 reps each hand with a 20 second hold
  • 50lbs resistance grip tool, 1 rep each hand with a 60 second hold

Well that was it for the day.  Not a great day, but it wasn’t a terrible day either.

Stay tuned tomorrow for the one week results of the Velocity Diet experiment.

Leave a Reply

