hitting_strength001013Intervals and Grip Strength

Today was another good day on the Velocity Diet.  My energy stayed consistent and high throughout the day.  I have no complaints.  Heck, as my body has adjusted, even the diarrhea has gone away.

So, about my day….

The day began with an Elite 12-hour protein shake some milled flax and a multivitamin.  With each shake this 12-hour protein blend is tasting a bit more pleasant, and while it will never be Yoo-Hoo it ain’t as bad as I originally thought.  I chased the shake down with some Metamucil and Water (about 3 cups).

For a snack (10:30 a.m.) I had some protein pudding and another 3 cups of water along with the rest of my supplements.  For lunch  I had an EAS Myoplex original shake, milled flax, and more water.

As my interval training session approached I scavenged the pantry for a moderate carb pre-workout snack; something to keep me from crashing during my intervals.  My choice came down to dates and oranges.  I went with one medium sized orange.  (2:20 p.m.)

My interval training session went well.  It was pretty simple.  30/90 second split.  That is 30 seconds sprinting at a 9-10 intensity level and a 90 second walk or slow jog.  Well, after my fourth interval I was sucking wind, and I wasn’t able to work at level 10 intensity.  The solution?  I dropped the interval times down to 10 second sprints and 50 second recovery walks or slow jogs.  Here is how it went:

Interval Training

  • 0-5 minutes: warm-up walk
  • 5:00-5:30 Sprint at intensity level 9
  • 7:00-7:30: Sprint at intensity level 10
  • 9:00-9:30: Sprint at intensity level 10
  • 11:00-11:30: Sprint at intensity level 8
  • 11:30-14:00: Walk (Transition to 10 second sprint/50 second recovery)
  • 14:00-14:10: Sprint at intensity level 10
  • 15:00-15:10: Sprint at intensity level 10
  • 16:00-16:10: Sprint at intensity level 10
  • 17:00-17:10: Sprint at intensity level 9
  • 18:00-18:10: Sprint at intensity level 8
  • 18:10-25:00: Cool down walk

After I walked through the door I quickly downed some of my anti-oxidant supplement and the last of the protein pudding.

For dinner, my considerate wife brought home a chicken spinach salad.  I decided to have some so I could sit and enjoy dinner with my family.  I also cooked a couple slices of bacon for a topping- on the Foreman grill of course.

I saved my grip strength training for the end of the day.  Using a 50lb gripper and hand extension bands (four different levels of resistance)  I did the following routine:

Grip Training

  • Set 1: 12 reps on each hand with a 2 second hold/and 12 extension reps on each hand (first level resistance).
  • Set 2: 6 reps on each hand with a 5 second hold/and 12 extension reps on each hand (second level resistance).
  • Set 3: 2 reps on each hand with a 20 second hold/3 extension reps on each hand with a 5 second hold (first and second level resistance).
  • Set 4: 1 reps on each hand with a 60 second hold/1 extension rep on each hand with a 20 second hold (first and second level resistance).

Shortly after that I finished off the days protein intake with a 12 Hour Elite shake and some milled flax.  I’ll probably have a cup of green tea before bed.

I have no complaints about today.  A great day by any standard.

Comments
  1. DR says:

    Way to go on the sprints!

    Those 30 sec sprints are rough. They should get easier as your bod gets more and more used to running without carbs as a cheap and easy source of fuel.

    BTW, great decision switching to the 10 sec sprints. Some people would have quit the sprints altogether.

  2. alexdoal says:

    Sounds good. I like to do stair sprints, which work different muscle groups while still conferring the cardiovascular benefits of intervals.

Leave a Reply

