dym-e124The day started off well enough.  A little black tea in the morning (7:45 a.m.) and I was up and running.  My energy levels were quite high at the start of the day.  I got down my breakfast protein shake and milled flax seed combo no problem (8:15 a.m.). I chased that down with about 12 oz of water mixed with some flavorless Benefiber.

My next meal was lunch (since we slept in a bit), and luckily, by then, my Elite 12-hour protein had arrived (11:45 a.m.).  The stuff is excellent in almost all respects except for one- taste.  My usual Myoplex shakes (original and light) beat this stuff in the taste department hands down.  However, I was able to drink it and it wasn’t quite so bad that I had to choke it down.  But let’s just say I wasn’t guzzling it like water.  My stomach started feeling a bit empty, so I broke the rules and had several slices of center cut pork bacon (reduced fat and cooked on the George Foreman Grill) with my shake for lunch.

For my snack after lunch I grabbed an EAS Myoplex light protein drink- which tasted like Yoo-Hoo chocolate milk compared to the 12-Hour Elite Rich Chocolate blend (2:15 p.m.).  The only problem is that the EAS drink is made up of mostly Whey protein; that means none of the benefits of slow release proteins.  But I had a workout coming up around 5 p.m., so I wasn’t too worried.  I mixed the shake with a serving of milled flax seed and drank it down quickly.

Around 4:30, in preparation for my workout I grabbed some Creatine mix off the shelf and took about 3/4’s of a serving.  This meant I got about 34 grams of carbs- the most carbs I had consumed all day.  I drank about half of it pre-workout and saved the rest to drink during my workout.

The Workout

I started off feeling great.  I warmed up with some calisthenics and then did three 50+ yard sprints in the cul-de-sac out front.  Still sucking wind from the sprints I got inside and began my workout (5:00 -5:20 p.m.):

  1. Prisoner Squats: 20 reps
  2. One Legged Dead-lift: 12 reps on each side holding a 20 lb sandbag in front of me.
  3. Chin-ups: 8 reps
  4. Sumo Squat: 45 lbs in each hand, 15 reps.
  5. Push-ups: 40
  6. Pull-ups: 5 (slow)
  7. Lift/Curl/Press: 30 lbs  each hand, 8 reps.

My original plan was to go through this routine twice.  The first time I would perform the routine as a circuit with almost no rest between exercises (which I did).  I would then take a 4-5 minute break and perform the exercises with about 45-60 seconds rest between each exercise.  However, like all the best laid plans of mice and men, it didn’t happen.  Half way through my lift/curl/press movements I started feeling the effects of my workout.  By the time I set down the dumbbells I felt like I was going to throw up.

I sat out the next 5 minutes hoping I could start again but I still felt sick to my stomach.  I then spent the next 25 minute trying to recover.  After about 30 minutes I finally got back to normal.  Now, this same thing happened to me the last time I did this workout three weeks ago, so I am not sure if I can blame the diet.  Although, I am very suspicious that what I experienced was a glyco-crash (i.e. not enough carbs in my body).  I am thinking that on workout days I will need to consume a normal meal pre-workout.  I will have to check with my trainer and see what he says.  I am thinking something easy and balanced like some all natural peanut butter and jelly (no additives, no extra sugar, just the natural organic stuff with peanuts and salt, and fruit juice and pectin) on 100% whole wheat toast.

Anyway, when I got back to normal I downed an original Myoplex protein shake and rest for a bit longer (5:45 p.m.).  I was still feeling a bit off so I broke the rules again and consumed a peanut butter sandwich a couple hours later as a way to tame the beast raging in my stomach.  I don’t foresee eating anything else tonight, although I will be drinking some green tea and some fiber water before bed tonight.

Oh, and one last thing.  My nutritional info for today.

  • Total Calories: 1457 calories
  • Fat: 50 grams (7.5 grams saturated)
  • Net Carbs: 83 grams (30 grams fiber; 38 grams sugar)
  • Protein: 161 grams

See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

