Velocity Diet: Tomorrow…

Posted: December 31, 2008 in fat, fat loss, fitness, health, Me, my life, ninja warrior, ninja warrior workout, Weight loss

sylvester-stallone-rocky-photograph-c10101948I took a serious hit over the holidays.  I lost motivation, I lost momentum; the only thing I gained was weight.  As I sat around on Christmas Eve wondering what I was going to do to re-energize my fitness journey I remembered something my personal trainer had posted on his blog long ago (so long ago I forgot the link).  So I Googled and Googled until I came across exactly what I had in mind- a 28-day nutrition plan for rapid fat loss.  (NOTE: I should add that my personal trainer was kind enough to email me over the holidays with more info.)

I figured why not try something radical to push my body to its limits and regain some of that lost intensity.  It is exactly the struggle of the wills kind of thing that gets me  fired up to excel.  The plan is called the Velocity Diet (see here, here, and here for info).  Bottom line, almost no real food for 28 days.  I guess that begs the question, what will I eat?  Well while I won’t be consuming imaginary food, I will be eating (or I should say drinking) protein shakes 5-6 times a day and consuming milled flax seed (in my shakes), fish oil pills, a multi-vitamin, and fiber supplements to keep the internal plumbing working.  Oh, and plenty of water.  Many on the diet use fat burners, but I’ve found that the things wreak havoc on my immune system, so I won’t be using any type of special fat burning supplement.

Crazy?  Maybe?  But what would you think if you saw someone smacking a tire with a sledgehammer?  What about if you saw your neighbor sprinting up his driveway dragging a tire behind him?  Well I do both, and plenty more that looks crazy enough to friend, family, neighbors, and strangers.  So why the heck not?

I will be using this blog to keep you guys updated on my progress and I will post some numbers tomorrow morning to show where I am presently.  Warning, those numbers won’t be pretty.  Hopefully in 28 days I will have shown significant improvement, my Ninja Warrior training will be back on track.

Comments
  1. MizFit says:

    wow.

    cant wait to watch and read about your VELOCITY experience!

  2. Teresa says:

    I visited the first link, and i have to say, the first paragraph did not fill me with confidence in the guy’s sanity…but I wish you the best. think I’ll sit this one out.

    I actually don’t think that hitting a tire with a sledgehammer is crazy, nor sprinting while dragging a tire.

    I DO think that the diet sounds like it would do some real damage if done for very long. You are probably right to not go longer than 28 days.

  3. The author of the first article certainly does have an interesting,…um..approach. But I actually heard about this through a personal trainer friend of mine. The diet isn’t easy and it isn’t intended for any extended period of time (28 days is the max, and trust me I will be evaluating my health as the days progress). While I question some of the diets claims, I do think the discipline required is the shot in the arm I need to regain my momentum.

  4. Teresa says:

    John,

    Well, as a person naturally prone to overweight, I spent my 4 years of high school living on diet soda, cigarettes, and the occasional energy boosters to get me through work-outs that I didn’t have the energy for…so I’m not one to judge…

    But you probably have better judgement and self-esteem than a teenaged girl, so no worries. 🙂

  5. Teresa says:

    Heh, about your picture….my husband’s name is “Rocky” (short for “Rockford”)…he never watched those movies, and refuses to do so to this day. Probably understandable…except he loved the Rockford Files and the “Rocky and Bullwinkle” show.

  6. jacob says:

    I personally belive that living a comfortable life is a way to longevity, so if you believe that you are over-weight, have the determination to loose the extra fat you dont want, you can do it and never loose focus.
    Personal trainer for 5yrs. Check out my sig for more tip you can use to shed that extra fat.

    Jacob

  7. DD2 says:

    I see that you are using my picture without my permission!

    I’ll let it pass this time, but nest time please ask.

  8. […] Comments DD2 on Velocity Diet: Tomorrow…Josh Henkin on Day 6: Velocity Diet Experimen…totaltransformation on Day 5: Velocity […]

Leave a Reply

