Turkish Get Ups ’til I Throw Up…

Posted: December 19, 2008 in fitness, health, my life, ninja warrior, ninja warrior workout, strength, weight lifting
Tags: , , , , ,

Well today I engaged in a pathetic attempt at strength and agility training.  It’s been almost three months since I last did one of these routines- and it shows.  I could only handle about 8 minutes of the 15 I had planned.  Heck, I didn’t even get to the turkish get ups!  Instead I got through one cycle of agility ladder drills (tougher than you might think), bear crawls, more agility ladder drills, and sand bag lifts, press, and slams (two minutes of each).  At that point I felt like I would fall over and die.  Luckily I didn’t.

I am hoping that it two or three weeks I can hit the 15 minute mark.  I just don’t want to push myself back into this too fast and end up sick again.  So I will probably add 1 minute per training session (or about 2 minutes per week).

Keep me in your thoughts and prayers as I battle the inevitable depression of realizing how far I’ve fallen and how much work I have to accomplish just to get back to where I was three months ago.  Sorry, that was my pessimistic side speaking.

Comments
  1. Teresa says:

    The agility ladder videos look a lot like our stari-work in Kung Fu. Taking one step at a time, we lift our knees really high and develop the fast-twitch muscle contraction.. Run up the stairs, trot down, run up the stairs, walk down. We usually do three flights ten times. Builds excellent leg speed and power.

    Stay strong. Dont let the depression get to you. The great thing about building fitness is how fast it returns. Once you have that base, you earn it back much faster than it too to build it the first time. It sucks, but you can do it.

Leave a comment