First Day Back: Failure…

Posted: October 22, 2008 in fitness, health, illness, Me, my life
Tags: , , ,

Well the day did not start well, since when I arrived at the gym it was just under 40 degrees and I quickly discovered that the gym was locked- stranding me and the staff outside.  When they finally got someone down there to open the gym I had missed the chance to perform my usual mobility program (although I had performed a shortened version on the cold concrete outside).  I was also still coughing up all kinds of fun stuff from my lungs.  Based on the above I decided to do a shortened (20-30 minute) workout of just a few compound exercises for low reps and one set a piece.  Something that would allow me to feel my muscle working without getting my lungs too upset. 

I felt pretty weak as I struggled through a leg press, dumbbell dead lifts, push-ups, one-legged squats, and chin-ups.  I decided to try and salvage some personal dignity by attempting a personal best on the biangular bench press- an exercise I haven’t done in a LONG time.  I layed down to start my usual visualization process when out of nowhere a coughing fit hit me.  I sat up, collected myself, and then layed back down.  Again I began coughing, and this time it was bad enough that I almost left the contents of my stomach (one smoothie and a protein shake) on the floor of the gym.

At that point (ten minutes into my workout) I knew it was time to pack it up and head home.  I had to face the realization that I had not yet recovered and that I woke up at 3:45 a.m. for no good reason.  As I sit here typing this I am still upset that I couldn’t get in a decent workout.  Better luck on Friday perhaps?

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. The first day(s) back after being sick or missing extended workouts is tough. I take a slow approach coming back, because the energy level just isn’t there.

  2. Teresa says:

    TT,

    Take it from an asthmatic with severe allergies who gets pneumonia or bronchitis or both every spring (and often in the fall);

    It is hard to come back from this stuff, but if you keep at it, one day, it’ll be like coming back to life again.

    I do it by promising myself that if I show up and do my best for ten minutes, I am allowed to quit if I still want to…and I still get to count it as a work out.

    Just my little personal “Head Fake”. 🙂

    Don’t get discouraged.

  3. adorablay says:

    I started posting again. 🙂
    Apparently my laziness has made my blog more popular than ever. Hmm… strange. How goes the blogging with you?

  4. Teresa says:

    TT,

    Just wanted to let you know that I am sing the WikiHow article you recommended for doing 100 push-ups. I’m the weakest link in the push-up catagory in our school…at least among the senior students. everytime I get up around 50 or so and try to do more I end up with a frozen shoulder (old torn AC injury) or something and have to start all over. Im hoping this program is well-desinged enough to get me to 100!!

    Don’t worry, if I end up hurt again I realize it’s my own dumb fault…you only get credit. 🙂

  5. Dee says:

    You are all so determined and tough! A cold and exercise just don’t seem to match all that well together – at least for me. While my body’s immune system is fighting nasty invaders I prefer helping out with cups of chamomile or mint tea. Slowing down actually helps me get back faster to my usual workout routine.

  6. yunahalo says:

    Hey! I haven’t been back in awhile… I just lost a baby and my sister in law might lose my niece at 25 weeks…. sorry to be gloomy, but how are you doing? I need pics!

Leave a Reply

