A Weapon in my Fitness Arsenal: The Super Smoothie

Posted: October 21, 2008 in 1

You can’t beat a good home made smoothie when it comes to calories, vitamins, and just plain ol’ good taste.  Not to mention it is easy to jazz up that smoothie so it adds a power combination of protein, fiber, and omega fatty acids.  So here is a recipe for a smoothie I used to drink (back when I was in top shape) and plan to reintroduce into my routine come Wednesday morning.

1/2 cup 100% (NOT FROM CONCENTRATE) Orange Juice

1/2 cup mixed berry medley (strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries)

1 teaspoon flax seed oil (organic)

1/4 cup old fashioned whole grain oats

1 serving creatine powder (flavorless)

That totals out to… 215 calories; 6.25g fat (almost all Omega 3&6); 35g carbs (16g sugar, 5g fiber); and 8.5g protein.  Not to mention the drink includes over 110% of your daily recommended intake of vitamin, 21% of your RDA for folic acid, and significant amounts of iron, vitamin B6, calcium, iron, and other good stuff.

I usually drink this WITH a separate small no carb protein shake (Myoplex).  I haven’t yet discovered a way to include a significant amount of protein (10+ grams) without the concoction tasting terrible.  Any recommendations?

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    I use whey protein, which tastes OK. Go to the Vitamin Shoppe if you have access to one (less expensive than GNC).

    My recipe is milk, protein powder, bananas, apples, spinach, baby carrots and anything else lying around.

  2. DR says:

    For flavour and quality, my favorite meal replacement / protein powders are Muscle Milk – http://www.cytosport.com/Product.aspx?ProductID=1 – and Metabolic Drive – http://www.biotest.net/readTopic.do?id=525024

  3. Sara says:

    My fave smoothie is plain yogurt, chocolate soy protein powder, pb, banana and flax. It is like a Chunky Banana sort of smoothie!

  4. Joseph says:

    Neil lost me at spinach! LOL Sara listed one of my favorites (whey protein for me though). I also like a strawberry/banana or a blueberry smootnie for breakfast and/or dinner/dessert.

    Best,
    Joseph

  5. aimgrrrl says:

    I’m a big fan of whey protein as well. EAS is the best I’ve found so far. 1 scoop has 120 cal, 23gm protein, and 2gm fat. It’s low in sodium and high in potassium, which I’m always short on. Costco currently has a 6 lb bag of it for $35.

    My recipes are here: http://aimgrrrl.wordpress.com/2008/10/10/recipe-fruit-smoothie-for-energy — feel free to swipe and adapt as you like.

  6. Thanks for the suggestions. Sadly, these don’t get around my main problem with most of these powders- they don’t come minus flavor. I don’t mind drinking a chocolate protein shake on its own, but the thought of adding it to my smoothie makes my stomach turn. I will probably continue drinking two seperate drinks for the time being. I also use Myoplex later in the day when it comes time for a good meal replacement.

  7. Neil says:

    Here’s the stuff I use – http://www.vitaminshoppe.com/store/en/browse/sku_detail.jsp?id=OP-1018

    It is vanilla, so the taste is not overpowering.

  8. aimgrrrl says:

    I generally use the vanilla powder, as I don’t taste it in my smoothies. But you may.

    I’ll be sure to let you know if I find a flavorless one 🙂

Leave a Reply

