The Overhead Shrug: Making me Look like a Pansy…

Posted: September 5, 2008 in fitness, Me, my life, weight lifting
Tags: , , , ,

These things are harder than they look.  I’ve never used so little weight to achieve so few reps as when I do the overhead shrug.  Today I moved up from just the Olympic bar (about 40-45lbs in weight) to the Olympic bar plus two little five pound weight plates on each end.  It is almost enough to make me laugh when the partial rep, sloppy technique guys in the gym– who feel the compulsion to load the bar with tons of weight (and proper form be damned) and grunt every time they move the bar an inch– stare at me like I am from the planet pansy– population me.

Luckily, no one yet has decided to come over and educate me on how I am not lifting right.  BTW, if you’ve been to a gym for more than six months you’ve probably had some well meaning (or possibly conceited) lug nut come over and try to explain to you why you are doing a particular exercise, or even your whole workout, all wrong.

Overall, I raised the poundage in half of the exercises, but performed roughly the same number of sets and reps.  I felt good for most of the workout, but I did begin to crash out a bit at the end.  The problem.  I had trouble falling asleep last night and only got a little less than 5 hours sleep.  I will be sure to get plenty of sleep to night as I recover from today’s workout.

Comments
  1. There’s a difference between you and those guys with the loaded weight and the bad form: You’re trying to gain strength, and they’re trying to look bigger by having a seemless connection between their jaw and their shoulder… aka, no neck.

    I’ve never had someone make any suggestions to me while at the gym. Have you?

  2. I know that. That is why it makes me laugh inside.

    And yes, I have had people try to give me tips- multiple times. Especially when I went through a period where I was experimenting with Mentzer’s Heavy Duty Training and with static contraction training. I had some lug nuts (big muscles, small brains) try to tell me how I was doing it all wrong.

  3. Teresa says:

    TT,

    No worries about the big muscle-heads. Your secure in your maculinity…right?

    🙂

    Haven’t had a lot to say lately. Just thought I’d let you know I’m still here. 🙂

    Good luck to you!

  4. DR says:

    The overhead shrug is so much better than the standard one for so many reasons.

    Not the least of which is the way it strengthens the entire rotator cuff group.

    But, no worries about the monkeys in the gym. They are everywhere. It used to bug me, but as I get older and wiser??? I seem to becoming much more zen about people who seem to know everything there is to know about everything.

    Enjoying the updates grasshopper

  5. DR says:

    grasshopper…heh heh heh

  6. theepiphany says:

    BTW, if you’ve been to a gym for more than six months you’ve probably had some well meaning (or possibly conceited) lug nut come over and try to explain to you why you are doing a particular exercise, or even your whole workout, all wrong.
    – that’s why I stick to the exercises/machines I KNOW how to use correctly. Nothing is more annoying that trying to have a peaceful, private workout under some jock’s scrutiny.

  7. blessed1 says:

    I need to be more consistent in my workouts. I’m so lazy! Is it okay to admit that here? LaZeeee!

  8. Angie says:

    Hey TT, I be bad! I wish I had your consistency! Yep, when I did go to Gym….uh how long ago was that? I had to have help because I did not know what the heck I was doing..lol!

    As far as the big muscles no brains type…well, they are not very attractive and rather dull. I would take a well toned bright guy anytime!

    I am afraid I am more like blessed up there…

    Keep up the good work because it is work, but I know it makes you feel better too. That’s the thing with exercise. It helps us feel better physically as well as mentally.

    Proud of you

  9. Usman says:

    I have seen a number of people do things like clean and jerks and snatches with very bad form but at the same time they do increase strength, power and resistance. I think correct form is more important for competitions. You can injure yourself you correct form as well so why do we give so much importance to the form? Incorrect form means you are using more muscle i.e. getting help which means you can release more HGH, test. and increase the EPOC effect and therefore the metabolism. What say you?? I may just be thinking out loud but it sounds good..lol…big words 😀

    Usman
    http://burnfatnbuildmuscle.blogspot.com

  10. Stiletto says:

    It’s called unsolicited advice and it’s pretty annoying especially when men are doing it to women just so they have a lame excuse to bug us while we work out.

    Nice blog change, by the way.

  11. MizFit says:

    i need to get back to these!

    havent done em in ages…since I stopped lifting with my husband.

  12. “It’s called unsolicited advice and it’s pretty annoying especially when men are doing it to women just so they have a lame excuse to bug us while we work out.”

    I would consider it socially awkward flirting.

  13. Teresa says:

    TT,

    I DID IT! I walked 61.5 miles in three days!

    I raised $2,200 for Breast Cancer research, early detection programs, free screening clinics, education programs, prevention programs and treatment assistance for women who need it!

    Finished yesterday. Here’s my first post on the story:

    http://www.anomalousdata.com/Post+Susan+G+Komen+Braindump.aspx

Leave a Reply

