Day 3 of Ninja Warrior Training…

Posted: August 27, 2008 in fitness, health, life, Me, ninja warrior, ninja warrior workout, weight lifting
Tags: , , , , ,

Well it was actually my second day since between the rain and having my wife all to myself- our daughter is with her grandparents- I totally skipped yesterday’s training.   The workout went MUCH better than two days ago as I was able to complete all three 15 minute sections with 5 minutes of rest in between.  Adding to the experience is the fact that despite several of the exercises being entirely new to me (i.e. overhead shrugs) it all went smoothly.  Here is the routine:

Warm-up: Swinging Snatch (look it up on YouTube at your own risk…)

Superset 1:

Push Press, 4 second negative, 1 second pause at the bottom, and explosive movement up= 6 sets of 5 reps.

Chin-ups (30 second negative)= 6 sets [Hold times: 26, 23, 23, 15, 11]

Superset 2:

Standing One-Arm Cable Punch, 6 second negative, one second pause, Explosive movement= 3 sets of 10 reps each arm.

Standing One-Arm Cable Rows, same as above 6/1/x= 3 sets of 10 reps each arm.

Cable Woodchop, 2 second negative, 1 second pause, 1 second positive= 2 sets of 10 reps each side, 1 set of 8 reps.

Superset 3:

Face Pulls, 9 second negative, 1 second pause, 1 second positive= 2 sets of 15 reps, 1 set of 12 reps

Overhead Shrug, 4 second negative, 1 second pause, 1 second positive= I set 30 reps, 1 set 25 reps, 1 set 20 reps, 1 set 10 reps, and 1 set 5 reps [The last two sets I experimented with using 20 and 40 pounds respectively, but I just couldn’t do it- so I switched to using only the bar for weight.]

Hanging Leg Raise, same as above 4 second negative, 1 second pause, 1 second positive= 1 set of 12 reps. 1 set of 10 reps, and 1 set of 9 reps.

I feel great side from some pain that still lingers from Monday’s routine.  I’ve learned that I over emphasized my quads and upper body and my hamstring and lower back are suffering for it now.

Comments
  1. Mark Salinas says:

    It looks great….stay strong!

  2. Stiletto says:

    You’re too wholesome to make dirty jokes.

  3. Rachel says:

    Wow that is quite the workout. You are going to be in amazing shape!

  4. DR says:

    Guesstimating the weight is always a pain in the butt – I am glad that you are overestimating rather than underestimating.

    Keep up the hard work

  5. […] at Total Transformation Test begins his Ninja Warrior training program. Do you have what it takes to be a Ninja […]

  6. JOHN! You need one of these to help you through stage 3:

    http://www.amazon.com/Gripmaster-Strengthening-System-Extra-Heavy-Tension/dp/B000UMHUSI/ref=pd_bbs_sr_7?ie=UTF8&s=sporting-goods&qid=1220151188&sr=8-7

    I have one I just keep at work that I use when I’m just sitting at my desk.

  7. On the swing snatch, are you using a kettlebell, or just a dumbell?

  8. A dumbbell. Neither I or my gym own a kettlebell.

  9. I’ve got one of those individual finger strength trainers. I use it as part of my grip strength training days.

  10. […] is some of the stuff that I have looked at this week.John at Total Transformation Test begins his Ninja Warrior training program. Do you have what it takes to be a Ninja Warrior?Rusty at Fitness Black Book looks at Muscle […]

Leave a Reply

