Update: Kane…

Posted: August 18, 2008 in health, life, my life
Tags: , , , , ,

A lazy afternoon on guard duty for a temporarily crippled dog and his none too bright best buddy. Their job- to guard the most precious person in this house.

I’ve walked Kane about 3 times today and noticed something that has me positively giddy. If I let the tops of his feet graze the grass or the smooth tile floor in our house he starts to move his legs just a little (about a 10-15 degree range of motion) back and forth as if he was walking. He still can’t put any weight on them like that- he only places weight on them when he locks them out which is happening more and more. I was so happy I brought him in and yelled for my wife to come watch. It was really cool to see him move his legs.

Also, I’ve discovered that it seems much more productive when I do his physical therapy right before I take him out for his walk. He locks out longer and moves his legs more if I’ve worked with him on his legs before we go out. No if only he would let me sleep through the night. Oh, and now he has complete control of his bladder again which is a mixed blessing since now I can’t force him to empty his bladder anymore and so I have to take him out more- as he has always been a tinkle here and tinkle there kind of dog.

I would also like to thank everyone for their help financially, emotionally, and spiritually.  Thanks to you guys and the guys over at SND we are almost half way done paying off his bill.

Comments
  1. ahmeen says:

    Glad to hear about all of the improvements.

  2. Rachel D. says:

    That is great news! I am so glad to hear Kane is on the road to recovery. 🙂

  3. RooBabs says:

    I’m so happy to hear the good news. Glad that things are progressing (for Kane and the financial situation). I hope my measly contribution found its way to you. = )

  4. Yup, it sure did Roo. Thanks.

  5. Teresa says:

    TT,

    That’s really great. I’m glad to hear tha the is continuing to imporve.

    Sorry I didn’t do more for F.A.T. I have out-of-town guests. Thanks for participating in POMM! I’ll have the winner up next Monday!

  6. Alfie says:

    congrats on the dog news.

  7. Randy says:

    I’ve been behind on my reading and just now caught up with this one.

    Glad he’s on the mends. Hopefully, he will give you a full night’s sleep soon..

Leave a Reply

