1st Day of the 100 Push-up Challenge…

Posted: August 11, 2008 in Exercise, fitness, health
Tags: , , , , , ,

The push-up is one of the best exercises available (aside from the squat) and it requires NO equipment, no weights, and only a able and willing body.  This is my first day of the 100 push-up challenge.  I tested at 43 push-ups in my initial test last week so I got to skip go and go straight to Week 4 of the program.

My results:

Level 1 = 27; 60 seconds rest

Level 2 = 17; 60 seconds rest

Level 3 = 20; 60 seconds rest

Level 4 = 17; 120 seconds rest

Level 5 = 30; END!

Quite a nice burn in my arms and I feel good.  I htink I might like this challenge.

Comments
  1. Mark Salinas says:

    Great job! The push up is great for the arms and core…very good exercise!

  2. I agree, push ups are an awesome exercise that encompasses multiple muscles and coordination. If all you did was push ups, squats and crunches you’d be in great shape. All at no cost!

  3. WOW….awesome pics… what a change!!

  4. That is awesome! I can’t do anything but sissy push ups! But I can do 60 of them! 🙂 I’ll have to try regular puch again!

  5. FatFighter says:

    The pictures really give you that extra proof you need to see how far you’ve come. That’s awesome!

  6. Thanks FF and AE! Where are you at in the 10 push-up challenge Andrew?

  7. darla says:

    Good job! now down to some serious business.. 😉 is this tuesday or not?? I am slightly confused…and want to play the game.. 😦

  8. Stiletto says:

    Very cool! And what a coincidence, I was going to challenge myself last night and see how many I could do, but I figure that being buzzed on wine is not conducive to challenging oneself physically with such an assault on the body lol

  9. Wow. 43 to start with. I’m depressed now… 😦

    My version…

  10. Hang in there brother, you’ll be there soon enough.

  11. John, I’m not sure you were supposed to skip ahead! Why did you start on week 4?

    It sounds cool though! I’m going to do it.

  12. “John, I’m not sure you were supposed to skip ahead! Why did you start on week 4?”

    The week you start on depends on your initial test. For example, if you can’t do more than 5 push-ups you start at week 1.

    http://hundredpushups.com/test.html

    Then again maybe I am doing it wrong. All I know is I don’t have the patience to do week 1 which isn’t much of a challenge for me at this point.

  13. I read that page.. I don’t see where it says that depending on how many pushups you could do in your initial test you would start on a certain week. Maybe you thought that your “rank” of 4 meant to start on week 4?

    “The scale of 1 to 7 is purely an indicator of current fitness, and can be used as a comparison tool between yourself, friends, family & co-workers.”

    It isn’t very clear about that I think

    I agree, though. I also wouldn’t get much out of the ‘week 1’ plan either.

Leave a Reply

