My New Workout….

Posted: August 8, 2008 in fitness, health, life, Me, Musings, my life, Pictures, weight lifting
Tags: , , , , ,

Kane showing off his shiny new harness. It is worth its weight in gold since I don't have to hunch over and cradle his back legs in my arms anymore.

Ignore for a second that this is possibly the second worst photo ever taken of me.  Trust me, you don’t want to see the worst.  Regardless, this photo depicts my new workout.  Just what is my new workout?  It is quite simple.  Attach a harness to the rear end of a 90lb dog, grab the handles, lift and carry for about 10-20 minutes 4 to 5 times a day.

Now unlike most workouts, hopefully the weight will decrease as he gets back some use of his legs.  For now though it me holding 100% of the weight of his back half 99% of the time.

Furthermore, unlike other workouts I post on here I don’t recommend this workout to anyone since it requires having an injured pet- something that is much harder than I previously realized.  However, despite the difficulties I’ve learned a few lessons (will post on those another day) and had a few laughs (mostly about a dog who doesn’t seem to realize his back half isn’t working so he hasn’t changed a bit in how he acts or where he wants to go).

Despite the fact he woke me up at 4:30 a.m. in order to coax me out of bed and over to pet him until he fell back asleep I still love him.  Reminds me of when Sasha was a baby.

Comments
  1. Mark Salinas says:

    Awesome workout! We call those ‘Horse Pulls” in boot camp!

  2. ahmeen says:

    Ha ha. you may have to loan him out as a great new exercise tool! It would be less boring than a treadmill…although my treadmill doesn’t lick me!

  3. Sybil Law says:

    Yeah – that kinda exercise is emotionally rewarding, too!
    What a great dog, though!
    (And owner!)

Leave a Reply

