July 31st, Run: Frustration, Sadness, and Hope (To Be Continued…)

Posted: July 31, 2008 in cardio, cardiovascular training, fitness, health, life, Me, my life, run, run it, runner, running
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My Morning Run

It felt great getting back out there!  It felt like the first time in a week that I’ve been able to clear my head, get lost in something, and just focus on something other than money or my poor boy Kane.  It was also the last time that my run will not involve me leaving my house and seeing Kane in his little corner, unable to walk, and knowing he can’t go running with ever again.  No doubt for the next few weeks my run will begin with a bit of sadness as that realization repeatedly strikes me each time I walk out the door.  I am also pretty sure he won’t enjoy it either since he loved our runs so much.  Mostly he loved picking fights with the neighborhood dogs along the way.  I can say one thing though, when he was running with me the neighborhood dogs didn’t try to sniff at my heels- he took care of that.  I will miss his company on my runs. I guess Lucius will have to start running with me, but if Kane sees that he will be REALLY angry. 

The results: A little over 2 miles, 208 calories burned, although I ran at a 12 minute/mile pace, but I was running intervals so the pace is deceptive.

To be Continued…This afternoons run

Comments
  1. Teresa says:

    I can’t wait until the Susan G. Komen 3-day Breast Cancer walk is over! (Although, I guess I shouldn’t be rushing it, cause I still have to raise over $1,000…yikes!)

    I’ve gained weight while training for this walk because I have to spend so much time walking, I dont have time for running. My lifting schedule is even off!

    Grumble.

    I miss running. Walking is teh boring!!!

  2. “I miss running. Walking is teh boring!!!”

    Amen to that. Do you have a dog to walk with Teresa?

  3. Oh man… I miss running like craZY!! It has been well over three months now since I have been able to run and I am still in pain. Reading your post made me want to take care of myself a little more though. This stress fracture would heal quicker if I stayed off it more. It’s taking forever though… I started doing some biking, against the doctor’s orders though. I just miss getting out there and clearing my head and that feeling after a great run. Sorry to hear about Kane though. I know it’s not the same without him.

  4. How did you get injured Rochelle?

  5. Teresa says:

    TT,

    Yeah, I have a dog to walk with. Remember the funny story about the “Exciting” run I had a while back?

    🙂

    http://www.anomalousdata.com/Shiney+Happy+Peoplewatching+Me+Fall+On+My+Face.aspx

    Even with a dog, though, walking takes too long. I get bored.

  6. I have a terrible stress fracture in my femur. This is my 2nd stress fracture in 6 months. And according to the dr, the one in my femur is pretty bad and I have had to be on crutches for several months now. They were thinking that I had early osteo or something, but the test results came back fine. There is still a slight possibility that I have a tumor (benign) too, which is why it is taking so long to heal. I think a big part of the problem is that I wasn’t eating properly for as hard as I was working out. I wasn’t getting enough calories, and good calories at that, and it took it’s toll. I have learned my lesson and will eat much better now! 🙂 I just can’t wait to get back out there.

  7. Well Rochelle I hope you have a speedy recovery. I will keep you in our prayers. And congrats on improving your eating habits. I think many people are surprised in our modern dieting culture that sometimes they do need to eat MORE calories.

Leave a Reply

