As all of you know I’ve dealt with some pretty difficult problems ever since this Sunday.  Between my beloved dog going from fully mobile to paralyzed in a matter of a few minutes to a major car repair in progress, this week hasn’t been easy on my head, my heart, or my wallet. [For those want more info: my car in the shop for a pretty major repair: heater core replacement].  Dealing with these issues really knocked me off my game so to speak.

We spent Sunday night at the Animal hospital until a half hour pas midnight- none of us has fully recovered from the combination of stress and a lack of sleep.  I probably could have started working out again on Monday but I am still carrying a feeling I can’t fully describe.  It feels like my head is in a dense fog and I just can’t seem to walk through it and find a sunny sky (or even a cloudy one that is at least cloud free).

It was just today that I confronted the question, how do I get out of this funk? How do I get back on track?  The answer was always there, I just needed a moment to think.  What did I do?

  1. I prayed for strength and perspective.
  2. I stepped back and assessed the situation.  Realized that no matter how bad things were life moved on and I couldn’t remain in this state of mind
  3. I looked back over what inspired me to make this major lifestyle change and found courage and strength in remembering what got me here.
  4. I agreed to give myself 24 more hours to remain inactive, work through the remaining problems, and then I would be back on my feet.

These four steps have moved me from depressed, upset, and totally off track to ready to begin anew.  The glass is indeed half full as I now have the opportunity to start fresh and go in a new direction.  What is that new direction?

I will be following some advice from DR (a personal trainer by trade) to modify my training and get it more in line with training for Ninja Warrior.  I will also go back to a more regimented day to get me back in mental shape for my return to graduate school from a long summer break.

The Plan for Tomorrow

6 a.m. Wake up and get Sasha ready

7 a.m. Breakfast

7:30-7:55 a.m. stretching

8:00-8:30 a.m. Bible Study on God’s Faithfulness [Good News Magazine, InTouch Ministries, and Thoughts.com]

8:30-9:05 a.m. Intervals (running)

9:15-10:30 a.m. Reading (Atlantic World Articles for Reading List)

10:30 a.m. snack

10:30 – 11:00 a.m. Internet Surfing (searching for articles on Lexis)

11:00-11:30 a.m. Yoga

11:45 a.m. Lunch

12:15 Midday Prayer (Remember Heidi’s son)

12:30 – 1:30 p.m. More Reading (Atlantic World)

1:30 – 3:00 p.m. House Cleaning (laundry, dusting, etc.)

3:00 – 3:30 p.m. Updating Blog, preparing adoption paper work

3:30 – 4:00 p.m. More Stretching

4:00-4:45 p.m. Getting read for my wife and daughter to get home (cook dinner, etc.).  Everything after that is fun stuff like family dinner, bath time, and putting together puzzles with Sasha.

Comments
  1. I hope everything starts to turn around for you. Whenever I get really upset or need to get my head straight, I just take a nice long jog and blast a playlist of my favorite upbeat songs for an hour. I always come back sweaty, refreshed and usually much happier than when I left 🙂

  2. Mama Zen says:

    Sometimes that fresh start is the best gift that you can give yourself!

  3. Sagan says:

    Having a new plan is one of the best ways to get yourself going. Hope it works out!

  4. blessed1 says:

    Having a plan is good, and I’m so glad you have God to support you. I know how hard it can get some days, and I fully know how moving through a fog feels like. I’m sorry you’ve hit a rough patch my friend.

  5. Neil says:

    Great recovery plan, John!

  6. Rachel D. says:

    I am so glad to see you have found strength during this trying time. I will say an extra prayer tonight for you and your family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

