Daddy and Sasha go to the Hospital to See Kane…

Posted: July 29, 2008 in answered prayer, attitude, blessings, challenge, clips, dogs, family, friends, happiness, health, illness, joy, life, money, my life, News, pain, personal, Pictures, prayer, prayer request, results
Tags: , , , , , ,

We made our first trip to the hospital today.  We discussed the issue of our payment plan, received the unfortunate news that it appeared we might not be able to get any grants to cover the surgery (keep praying about this), and we paid off part of the bill.  [BTW: If you do want to help defray some of the costs of Kane’s surgery just click this sentence.]

On a more positive note we saw Kane for about an hour.  We walked outside with Kane and the doctors and learned how to help him pee by squeezing on his bladder- fun times.  We saw some improvement in him placing a small amount of weight on his hind legs- YEAH!

Then we went into a comfy visiting room where Sasha prayed for Kane and we hung out together for a while.  Here are some of the pictures and video from our visit.

How about the cutest thing first?  Here is a video of Sasha and Kane together- sorry for the no sound, our digital cam stinks.

Next, the surgery scars

I told him that he was lucky in a way since chicks dig scars.

One of the residents was also nice enough to take a few pictures of all three of us- of which only one turned out good.  Not her fault though, we just have a horrible camera.

Comments
  1. Brandy says:

    QUESTION!

    Why is he shaved in three places?

    And your daughter is way cute! 😀 Love her faces in the vid!

  2. He is shaved on his lower back since that is where they cut into his spine. He is shaved on his neck since they had to do a spinal tap to check for an infection of the spinal fluid. And he is shaved under his front leg because his IV is there- somewhere. He does look kind of silly though. Don’t tell him that, he might get embarrassed.

    What? No comments about my adorable daughter or my wild hair- since I took the worlds quickest shower before heading over there.

  3. Brandy says:

    I commented on your adorable daughter!!!!!!

    Well I just thought that was your normal hair since I’ve only seen a pic of you pre-totaltransformation. 😆 haha!!

  4. Carlotta says:

    Aww!!! So sorry to hear about Kane but glad he’s doing okay! And your daughter is adorable!

    I’ll be praying for Kane!

  5. Awwww! I am so glad that Kane is doing good, poor dog! Your daughter is very cute. You’re all still in my prayers!

  6. Hilary says:

    That’s a fine looking dog. I’m sorry he’s having a rough go of it. I know what it’s like to weigh expenses against their health. I hope all works out without too much strain. And yes, that little girl is a cutie-pie!

  7. Angel says:

    hope he gets to feelin better!:)

  8. Teresa says:

    Here’s hopin’ for a full recovery for Kane, for your adorable daughter, who is no doubt rattled by the whole thing, and for your unruly hair as well.

  9. AndrewE says:

    Great to hear that he’s improving!

  10. “and for your unruly hair as well.”

    Well that hope is lost, the cost of his surgery forced me to cut back on the haircut budget. HA!

  11. Teresa says:

    “Well that hope is lost, the cost of his surgery forced me to cut back on the haircut budget. HA!”

    I think my mom still has the old clippers she used on us kids laying around the house…

  12. Perhaps I could find a Flowbee cheap on Ebay?

  13. Hoping Kane has a speedy recovery. He is so loved, and that is so wonderful to see.

    Hugs to you all!

  14. lifelemons says:

    Your daughter is SUPER cute! Poor dog, I hope he has a speedy recovery!

  15. Thanks Jane. I am glad to see your face around here. 😉 You too Lemons.

  16. darla says:

    I always feel sad when my dogs are even sick, and after surgery they are so in control of my heartstrings..I am having many flashbacks to when my dobie had back surgery..and those eyes!!! I wanted to buy him a steak..or whatever makes doggies happy..but the vet didnt like my idea..soooo I gave him a pair of my shoes, that I am sure he always wanted to chew on anyway…Praying for Kanes recovery, and your daughter is precious!!! Kane seems to think so too! 🙂

  17. “Praying for Kanes recovery, and your daughter is precious!!! Kane seems to think so too!”

    He adores her. And he is much happier now that she is older and less of a spaz in constant motion. HA!

  18. Stiletto says:

    Those are some entertaining facial expressions!

  19. “Those are some entertaining facial expressions!”

    I am so glad no one mentioned my huge forehead. Wheeww.

  20. That video is adorable! Get well fast Kane, because it looks like you have a little girl that loves your companionship. 🙂

Leave a Reply

