Update: Kane, Some Good News at Last…Sort of…

Posted: July 28, 2008 in Me, my life, prayer, prayer request
Tags: , , , , , ,

I talked to my wife’s relative who is a vet in Florida and he told us that the vet we talked to this morning was wrong (if you wanna catch up on what happened earlier, just click here for the first post).  He said we had to get Kane to a doggy neurologist A.S.A.P. as there is only a 24 hour time window for spinal cord injuries.  I immediately called and got him an emergency appointment at the NC State Animal clinic- for those who don’t know NC State has one of the best vet training programs in the South.

We took him there about 9 p.m. and we didn’t get back until midnight.  As we drove Sasha said a prayer as she pet Kane’s head, something like:

Dear Jesus, please heal Kane.  His butt is hurt and his legs don’t work too good.  I just want him to feel better and run a lot again.  Thank you Jesus for Kane.  I love him.

When I got done crying I told her that her prayer was very sweet.

When we got there a vet came out and got him quickly.  We were VERY BLESSED since the dog neurologist, who wasn’t supposed to be in at all tonight, happened to wander in to get something from his office and took an interest in Kane’s case.  Both vets (the resident and the neurologist) gave him a complete neurological work-up.  These vets were more positive, they think he has a ruptured/herniated disc in his spine.

Despite this good news, there is one significant problem.  We talked about pricing options and we found out that we have enough money/credit to pay for his required pre-surgery prep (which includes MRI’s, blood work, etc.), but when that is done we don’t have enough to pay for the surgery (they cost about the same amount, $2,000-$2,800 for each phase). We have a lot of tough choices to make, please pray the Lord gives us wisdom and strength.

First thing tomorrow I will be on the phone with the billing folks at the vet hospital begging and pleading for a payment plan- which I’ve been advised they don’t often do thanks to past deadbeats. I’ll be posting to keep you guys updated.

Comments
  1. ahmeen says:

    I hope they can hear the sincerity in your voice and trust you with a payment plan. I am sure that it will work out. At least Kane is in good hands!

  2. Brandy says:

    Praying for a payment plan!!! 😉

  3. Brandy says:

    p.s. I added you.

  4. AndrewE says:

    I hope it all works out.

  5. 1godsgal says:

    So sorry Total….Will be praying for wisdom and provision…..and peace. Love to you and your family

  6. i’m so sorry to hear about this… i can’t imagine how tough it is for you and your family. keep us updated!

  7. Tall T says:

    I am so sorry to hear about Kane. I will pray that this payment plan come through for you.

  8. Alfie says:

    Best wishes with everything. Stay strong.

  9. Stiletto says:

    I am sending positive thoughts your way!

  10. Laura says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about this – I lost my dog two years ago to sudden kidney failure for which we had to have her put down. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do.

Leave a Reply

