Emergency: URGENT PRAYER NEEDED…

Posted: July 27, 2008 in health, life, Me, my life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Kane is the black and tan dog on the right.

[By the way, if you want to know why I love this dog so much just click here and read this post about man’s best friend.  He was all that AND MORE!]

I just got back from the animal hospital.  My dog Kane woke up this morning with a limp in one leg, I let him out to pee.  By the time I came back outside to get him 15 minutes later his hind end was immobile and I had to carry him inside the house.  I called the emergency 24hour vet and got him in immediately.

The vet says his problem is neurological.  He CAN feel pain in his feet and legs, but he CAN’T move them at all.  According to the vet, his words, “he is about one level better than the worst case scenario.”  We had preliminary X-rays done, but they didn’t show anything conclusive.  So three options remained as possible causes for his paralysis.

  1. A tumor
  2. A herniated disc
  3. An infection of some kind

The vet gave us the option of running a cat scan (Price tag: $1,500) but he admitted that while it might give us a better idea what we were dealing with the cost of fixing either a tumor of a herniated disc was in the range of $3,000 to $5,000 dollars (not including the cost of the cat scan).  The last option, the infection, could be treated with antibiotics and anti-inflammatory meds.  Since we are unable to pay for options 1 or 2, and we weren’t ready to put him to sleep without checking to see if maybe it was option 3, we opted to get the meds and take him home.

Over the next few weeks we will have to help him pee by pushing on his bladder.  I will have to take him outside several times a day to pee and defecate.  And he will require three types of meds throughout the day.  We will have to continuously test him to make sure he is still feeling deep pain.

I ask of you, my friends, please lift up our family and or dearly beloved family member Kane in your prayers.  Pray for healing.  But if that isn’t to be, then please pray God gives us the strength and wisdom to make and follow through on the right choices for Kane.  Thank you all in advance for your prayers and thoughts.

How am I?  I’ve done all the crying I can do for one day.  I am going to take strength in the Lord and see what happens.  Right now I am praying for just a little movement in either one of his back legs, a flicker of hope.  But I know that with God all things are possible- perhaps a full recovery tomorrow?  I pray for such.  Please pray with me.

Comments
  1. AndrewE says:

    You are in my thoughts and prayers. Hopefully it’s just an infection.

  2. Brandy says:

    oh man. That breaks my heart for you. Our dogs we had before kids were totally my babies and I remember the fear I had when my boy was sick.

    For sure praying for your baby. My heart is heavy for him and you.

  3. Angel says:

    aw I’m so sorry…I know its so painful.
    Hang in there!

  4. My thoughts are with you, your family and Kane.

  5. Hug? Hug?

    That’s terrible. My puppy (well, she was 12) went downhill very quickly, so, thankfully, the choice was obvious. She went from having pancreatic cancer that slowed her down (a bit) to not being able to move in a matter of two hours.

  6. Neil says:

    I prayed for all of you. I’ve been through serious medical things with each dog and it isn’t cheap or low stress.

  7. AWWWW…. I’ll be praying. While I do not have any animals, I do have plenty of friends who do and I DO know that they are just like your children…. I cannot even imagine going through all that!
    Praying for Kane (and your family!) 😦

  8. Teresa says:

    TT,

    I’m so sorry, for the heartbreak and fear you have right now.

    I believe that you will do the right thing, and I believe that your dog is in the best hands possible.

  9. Gabrielle says:

    I’m sorry to hear that, I hope he gets well soon. Stay strong

  10. ckroboth says:

    TT… as I said at inProgress… I am praying for your family.

  11. So sorry to hear about your dog. It’s heartbreaking to see our pets not able to function as they use to. Kane is obviously in a very loving family. My prayers are with all of you. God’s blessings, Dorothy

  12. Alan says:

    We will try to keep this entire situation in our prayers over the next couple weeks. Please keep us update.

    Here is a site that might help with some of the expenses:
    http://www.websitetoolbox.net/tool/post/luciedove/vpost?id=920492

    We are right now in the process of saving up a few dollars to send for the room. However, feel free to use it as needed.

    May peave be with you.

  13. DR says:

    John,

    My prayers are with you, your family and Kane.

    Doug

  14. Hi John,

    We will be praying for you, the family, and especially Kane. Not sure where you’re living, but often times, country vets are quite a bit less expensive that city vets. I just pray the antibiotics work.

  15. Letting go of a loved one is about the hardest thing a loving man or woman can do.

    Praying you don’t have to this time TT but that should He decide it, you all can find peace in the passing on.

    Don’t forget to gain and learn from the situation, as sad as it might be – He has a message within every time and place… seek out Him in this also. Keep your Faith. May your Faith only grow as you grow in Him.

    It was not easy when our beloved german shepherd was in pain and we chose to release him from it.

    Prayers for Kane.and his family.

    <B

  16. krislinatin says:

    Oh John, Im so sorry. I said a prayer. Rest in Him.
    and love on Kane for the time you have left.
    Kane knows you love him.

  17. Thank you all, I am posting an update right now.

  18. […] Papa & Mama, Ck Roboth, Darla, Michelle, Brandy, Gchyayles, Birgit, Heidi, Bernard, and please say a special prayer for a special need at Total Transformation […]

  19. Stiletto says:

    Oh goodness, I am so sorry, TT. I don’t know what else to say. I rarely pray but I will have you in my thoughts. This makes me sad.

  20. Kane is going into his MRI in 30 minutes and then into surgery.

  21. Lara Moody says:

    God bless you! Please call me if you like at 540-878-9230. I direct a Christian animal rescue group specializing in miracles. PLEASE WATCH BOTH SHORT VIDEOS ON THIS LINK. This is the story of Faith, a rescue doggie who lost use of her back legs. God sent an angel who donated a wheelchair. See the story & call me if you want to talk. Remember, it’s not about the funds – it’s about the Lord – He supplies ALL our needs. Bless you, sister in Christ. People & vet were very angry at me for keeping her alive. I obeyed the Lord & she now has an amazing home & life. God is sovereign. Listen to Him and keep believing. check out http://www.handicappedpets.com, awesome help on expressing bladder & tons of support.

    http://www.godtube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=581e917679421b2ae7c3

Leave a Reply

