News, Opinion, and Awards: Sorry if I Offend…

Posted: July 11, 2008 in laugh, life, News, North Carolina
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

In the category of “Not the best way to argue your innocence” is Orlando Maurice Guarino (38), suspected of killing his wife and two young children.  After telling reporters that he didn’t commit the murders he, rather unfortunately for his defense counsel, added:

It could be me, man, you never know. I’m not going to play it out in the media. … Anything’s possible, you know what I mean? You look at the circumstances, I mean, I would accuse me too.” – Yahoo! News

Way to go.  Most likely your lawyer will be an underpaid and over worked public defender.  I am sure he will thank you for making his job harder.

In the category of “How NOT to Hire a Hitman” is Sharon Collins (45) who hired a hitman off the website http://www.hitman.us.com to kill her rich boyfriend and his two sons.  It gets funnier.  Unfortunately for her the hitman double crossed her- who would have thunk it- and informed her boyfriend about the plot and offered to call off the hit in exchange for a generous amount of cash.  –Telegraph (UK)

In the category of “FINALLY…Some Good News Comes out of Rising Gas Prices” we have this bit of news from my home state of North Carolina.  It appears that the high gas prices will force the Highway Patrol to cut back on various patrol duties and enforcement programs.  I hope this has an impact on local cops too.  You know the ones that give you a ticket for having a registration that is expired by a mere 15 days- yup, yours truly got popped for that last week.  Ridiculous.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, most of the traffic codes need to be scrapped.  There is nothing that creates more animosity between otherwise law abiding citizens and the police than traffic laws.  Sadly, tickets offer a backdoor way for local politicians who are too scared to raise taxes to generate revenue.

In the category of “I’m Sure you Won’t be Surprised” we have the AFL-CIOs latest attack ad against John McCain. The ad claims that McCain voted against increasing health care benefits for veterans.  As is often the case in the world of politics this is somewhere between a lie and a half truth.  While he voted against some bills that raised health care benefits for veterans, he voted for other bills that raised health care benefits for veterans.  Factcheck.org

Comments
  1. Stiletto says:

    ‘It could be me, man, you never know. I’m not going to play it out in the media. … Anything’s possible, you know what I mean? You look at the circumstances, I mean, I would accuse me too.”’

    Guess he and OJ will be going to the same HELL.

  2. “Guess he and OJ will be going to the same HELL.”

    Is that the hell where you spend 22 out of 24 hours per day on the golf course looking for your wife’s killer?

  3. Cath Lawson says:

    Interesting wrap up. I guess that Orlando guy is going to fry.

    And as for the woman who hired the hitman – serves her right. Didn’t these people ever hear of divorce?

    Congrats on the weight loss by the way. You’re doing way better than me. I’ve gained two pounds in five days and I hardly cheated at all.

  4. “Didn’t these people ever hear of divorce?”

    They weren’t even married.

  5. Oh and by the way Cath I’ve gained 2 pounds in the last seven days DESPITE 6 cardio workouts, 3 resistance training session, and a nutritional intake that wasn’t terrible. Oh well, fitness isn’t all about the scale.

Leave a Reply

