I shook things up a bit this morning and ate a small breakfast of 2 cups watermelon diced, 1 banana, and 2 cups of water.  I waited about an hour, stretched, and then went out to do the A.M. portion of my cardio routine.

I threw a few curve balls in my running routine that must have caught my heart off guard.  I alternated between jogging and sprinting, and walking and sprinting.  My heart rate peaked at about 175 beats per minute, but I was around 135-155 for most of the run.

The run definitely went well.  My shins hurts, my ankles are a bit swollen, and my calves feel like I was carrying an elephant on my back.  But otherwise I feel great.  My energy is way up post-run- and that is worth the pain.

I can honestly say that I am looking forward to tonight’s cardio session.

Post-run: When I got home I had another cup of watermelon and a small bowl of cheerios with 3 cups of water and my multivitamin.

I am thinking of sticking with an all fruit breakfast on cardio days.

Comments
  1. Angel says:

    good one u John..keep it up !!:)

  2. Teresa says:

    That looks great. I think I need a watch with a timer on it.

    Yestrday I couldn’t exercise AT ALL! I’m positively stir-crazy today.

    Had to run in to my allergist’s office and get treated for a systemic reaction to my immunotherapy (allergy)shots.

    But on the upside, I now have this shiney new Epi-pen that I get to carry everywhere.

    grump.

  3. “That looks great. I think I need a watch with a timer on it.”

    Wal-mart sells watches with chronographic functions for as little a $6-7 bucks- That is where I got mine. Kicker is, it has last longer than watches I paid upwards of $50 bucks for. And yes, I don’t mind ending sentences with prepositions. 😉 I also think the grammatical rule about adding ‘s to words that already end in s (except for ancient folks like Jesus and Moses) is B.S. Sorry for the unrelated grammar rant.

  4. “But on the upside, I now have this shiney new Epi-pen that I get to carry everywhere”

    Except perhaps past airport security.

  5. Tara R. says:

    Good luck with the routine… I wish I could still run. I really do miss it, even though I whined about it while I was running.

  6. Tara R. says:

    Oh yeah, congrats on your award from Kim.

  7. “I wish I could still run”

    Bad knees?

  8. JudiFree.com says:

    I’m tired just reading this post! Go for it! You are doing so awesome!

  9. The best thing about it, when I wrote the post I had more energy than when I first started my run. I will admit to hating running while I am running. But I also must admit that I love the way I feel when running is over. And I don’t mean that in the sense of when you say the best part of school is when it is over. The energy, the alertness, the high is amazing sometimes.

  10. Teresa says:

    “Except perhaps past airport security.”

    LOL! I can see what a danger an Epi-pen would be on a flight!

    “Take this plane to Cuba, or I will use my Epi-pen to make you feel severely over-caffinated for an hour or so.”

  11. Teresa says:

    Oh! I would also like to bring these beginning Karate exercises to your attention. they are excellent xrcesise for people beginning the martial arts to improve power, flexibility, and speed.

    I met this sensei a couple of weeks ago over the phone, since he had heard about my program for special needs kids, and is creating one of his own. He’s great.

    http://www.urbandojang.com/video.php?video=6

    His art is Tae Kwon Do.

  12. I will check them out. You should see my wikihow post. It is one of my last three posts or so. I think you would like it.

  13. Brandy says:

    Question:

    so all day long you are constantly excericising? How does this work?? I’m being serious.

  14. “so all day long you are constantly excericising? How does this work?? I’m being serious.”

    While it might seem like it, I don’t constantly exercise. As a matter of fact most of my day is spent sitting at my desk reading- about 250-400 pages per day. I simply split my cardio routine into an A.M. and P.M. session. 20-30 minutes in the morning and 20-30 minutes at night, three days a week. I also do resistance training three days a week- which takes about 25-35 minutes. So on average I spend 45 minutes per day six days a week exercising.

    Thanks for stopping by Brandy.

  15. Any tips on how to get up and run? I have never been able to get up and head out the door for a jog. I can do yoga, push-ups, etc but the cardio is really what i need.

    P.S. Impressive site.

  16. Thanks for the compliments and kind words PC.

    “I have never been able to get up and head out the door for a jog”

    Well there are two things, one is beyond your control and the other is within your power to chance. First, are you a morning person?

    If you are (like me) it isn’t hard to roll out of bed, grab some water and a few bites, and hit the road.

    If you aren’t (like my wife) it is much more difficult.

    A few questions for you PC. Are you married? Do you live with a good friend or fiance? I ask this because they are often heavily involved in helping get you motivated to run.

    Moreover, I would recommend that you sit down and convince yourself to give morning runs a trial two week period. Agree to commit to two weeks of morning runs (four times a week). By the third week you should find it easier.

    Also, be liberated from the idea that you should enjoy running. Most of us don’t- at least the initial period of getting in shape and the first 10 or so minutes of any run are difficult and painful.

    Also, how about using your morning run time as a good time to catch up on books on tape you wanted to read or your favorite talk radio program (I listen to the Dennis Prager show on most of my runs now).

    Hope that helps. Let me know if you have any more questions.

  17. Hello friend I noticed your routine is a very good one with meaningful variations and a real well rithm. Good.

    I´d like to advice you to include resistance workouts to your routine. There are a lot of exercises that can help you more in 5 minutes than in a half an hour of running or biking.

    Why you should hear me? I have been working out for about 25 year in a lot of different kind of routines and I have noticed that if you carry out a resisntance routine followed by a high intensity cardio it´s the best you can do to losing weight and get lean.

    Obviously it is very important to regulate your protein, fats and carbohydrates intakes, eat 5 times a day and drink about 2 liters of water.

    You can find very interesting information in my blog.

    Best Regards and my Best wishes of success for you.

    Daniel Cajiga

  18. Thanks for wonderful post. I learn a lot form this. Please write more stuff.

Leave a Reply

