One Example of Why I Switched from Men’s Health to Men’s Fitness…

Posted: July 2, 2008 in blogging, change, Exercise, fat blogging, fitness, fitness journal, health, Me, sex, weight lifting, Weight loss, weight loss for men
Tags: , , , , , ,

Israel blogged about Men’s Health Magazine just a few days ago, and I figured I would throw in my two cents.  As a young man I really enjoyed Men’s Health Magazine, but I’ve found as I grow older (not to mention my marital status and fatherhood) that Men’s Health Magazine leaves a few things to be desired.  As a 29 year old married father I just don’t an interest in a large portion of the articles in Men’s Health Magazine.  For example if you swing by their website today you will see the following stories: Does Your Boss Want You?, What to do if that flirty female is your superior; Master the First Date; Does she want to Get Kinky?  Not to mention the several page article (a few issues ago) related to convincing your wife to engage in kinky behavior (including threesomes). Sorry, but that kind of thing does not hold my interest anymore.

So if you are like me and you want a magazine about working out and men’s health that focuses less on how to meet babes and be great in bed and more on exercise and fitness (but you don’t want the ‘roid fueled lunacy of Flex and other steroid mags) I would recommend you try out Men’s Fitness.  The main page includes the following articles:

The MMA Workout [This is a MUST SEE]

Build the Ultimate [Fitness] Sandwich

[Choosing] Bagged Lettuce

Eternal Beach Body Workout [A Twelve Week Program]

When it comes time to renew my subscription to Men’s Health, I don’t think I will be renewing.  Instead I am going to switch over to Men’s Fitness- and finally stop paying the newsstand price.

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    Thanks for the recommendation. I went through the same though process with Men’s Health years ago. The health parts and sense of humor were great, but the Maxim-like stuff was more than I needed.

  2. Israel says:

    Well said, I actually just got my copy in the mail. With LL Cool J on the cover.

  3. John says:

    Maybe it’s time I re-examined the two magazines. I was a longtime subscriber to Men’s Fitness until I started thinking the same things about them. 5-6 years ago they seemed to be moving toward a focus on college aged ‘dudes’ and Men’s Health seemed to be more mature.
    Usually, I scan over the articles that don’t apply to me. Thanks for the heads up, John.

  4. You might also want to try out Best Life Magazine. It is low on fitness stuff but high on the mature guy articles.

  5. John says:

    I had a ‘free’ subscription to Best Life a couple years ago. There seemed to be very few articles in there that appealed to me. I switched to Men’s Journal, it has some amazing articles on adventure trips that I will never take, but are fun to read and it doesn’t seem targeted to the metrosexual like Best Life.

Leave a Reply

