Well I need some good motivation, so why not bring back a familiar face…errr…shirt.  Remember this:

Yup, looks nice on him.  On me it has a certain ability to accentuate my fat rolls to the tenth degree.  The challenge is simple enough, I have until a certain date to drop the fat.  Whether I drop the fat or not, on the last day of the challenge I have to post  a picture of myself in the oh so tight t-shirt.  For the sake of public record here is some information about the current state of my body.

The Starting Line.  Today is June 25th.  As of today I weigh 178.  I went over and plugged my numbers into the on-line body fat estimator.

For those who want to know the input values:

Waist at narrowest point, 34 inches; Waist size at naval, 36 inches; Hips at widest point, 39.5 inches; Neck at narrowest point, 15.5 inches; weight, 178 lbs.

The results:

Using your measurements of a 34 inches waist and weight of 178 pounds your body fat percentage is estimated to be 20.66 % using the U.S. Navy body fat formula, or 20.44 % using the formula developed by the YMCA. [Body fat estimator]

It should be noted that this calculator can overestimate body fat if you carry most of your weight around your belly- like me.  This is fine though since most of the pounds dropped will likely come from the same location, so the results should as least stay consistent.

The Goal: To drop those rolls that this shirt will cling to like white on rice- or I guess brown on brown rice.  As far as objective goals, the next time I visit the body fat estimator I want to input the following numbers:

Waist at narrowest point, 32 inches; Waist size at naval, 34 inches; Hips at widest point, 39 inches; Neck at narrowest point, 15.5 inches; weight, 167 lbs.

The above numbers would lead to a body fat estimate of roughly 16.5%.

The Dates: The starting date is today (June 25th, 2008), the ending date is a month from now (July 25th, 2008).

Comments
  1. AndrewE says:

    Sounds good. I have to give this a go.

  2. You can pick them up at Wal-mart for less than $8.

  3. Mark Salinas says:

    I like it! I’m in!

  4. I forgot to mention that I MUST post pictures of myself in the shirt on July 25th, 2008.

  5. Stiletto says:

    TT, I’m thinking we need to lose the morning breakfast chocolate sprinkles!

  6. Great idea, good luck! I was in London a couple of years ago and my team took me out to a go-kart track where you had to get into jump suits. I managed to squeeze into one but holy smokes I felt like a sausage.

  7. John: “I managed to squeeze into one but holy smokes I felt like a sausage.”

    I know what you mean. They are awfully unforgiving. I think the shirt makes me look worse than a shirtless picture would make me look.

    “TT, I’m thinking we need to lose the morning breakfast chocolate sprinkles!”

    I don’t even eat the breakfast “sprinkles” (BTW I made little quotation marks with my hands to emphasize the point) anymore. My new thing is eating dinner in the morning and breakfast at night. Guarantees a good front load of nutrition and calories for the day and keeps me feeling fuller for longer throughout the day. 😉

  8. Stiletto says:

    Hey, TT, if that shirt doesn’t work out, try this one:

Leave a Reply

