I am realizing that after May 5th, I will have to endure a whole summer without a gym.  You see, the gym that I go to is located on campus.  Said campus is 1 hour and 45 minutes drive from my home.  I ain’t driving 3 and a half hours round trip to go to the gym.  So what does that mean?

It means I am back to where I was when I started: no gym, no barbells, no treadmills.  Nope, none of that.  I am back to busting *ss carrying buckets full of rocks, duck walking with big pieces of wood across my back, and running on the blacktop in my subdivision.   And you know what?  The idea is kind of exciting to me!

Wanna know why?  Well, truth is, the gym has made me soft. I can go in, workout out in positions that don’t build significant real world strength, ignore my core with few penalties, and enjoy the comfort of a heated (or air conditioned) facility.  No more of that.  Come May 5th I am going back to my roots- back to the streets.

What will my new routine include?  Plyometrics, jump rope, buckets full of rocks, heavy pieces of wood, push-ups, a modest set of dumbbells (no jokes please), and lots of intense yard work!

Now I have to get to thinking about how to make the most of this last month in the gym.

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    Man, are you a buzzkill . . . I was just headed off to the gym! Now I don’t know what to do . . .

    Good luck with the exotic routine!

  2. AndrewE says:

    Sounds like fun. I hope you can keep the motivation up.

  3. Teresa says:

    TT,

    balance balls don’t cost much, and they do a really good job of pushing some of the work to your core.

    I like to do push-ups with my feet on the balance ball, and then do push-ups with my hands on the balance ball.

    I had to get one for physical therapy after my car accident, and I love it very much.

    There’s lots and lots of ab-related things you can do with them.

    Also, There is a steep hill at the dog park that is good for running wind sprints. It is about as close to vertical as you can get and still get up it, and it is sandy (old creek bank). It’s about 25 yards, and people think I’m crazy, but I like to run up that five or six times. whenever we go there.

    But I must admit, I like my gym in the winter time. At forty, I am not exactly terrified of breaking a hip, but if it happens, I’d rather it be in “battle”, rather than just slipping on a bit of ice. 🙂

  4. Thanks Teresa. I already have a rather excellent one with sand in the bottom so it doesn’t move around too much.

  5. Stiletto says:

    Sounds like you are getting “back to nature.” Congrats. Not everybody has the opportunity to make with the lay of the land.

Leave a Reply

