Inauspicious Morning, Auspicious Workout

Posted: April 9, 2008 in Exercise, fat loss, fitness, health, results, run, run it, runner, running, weight, Weight loss
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Why the title with the fancy word? (For those of you confused, you can find the definitions here and here.) Well, sit down, cause this is a long story. Are you seated yet? Good.

It all starts at 1:30 a.m. this morning. I went to bed feeling fine (around 10:00 after an excellent episode of Hell’s Kitchen- but that is beside the point). Much to my chagrin I awoke around 1:30 a.m. with a stuffed up nose and a sore throat. I immediately thought, “What about my workout today?!” I went back to sleep hoping it would go away. When I woke up at 3:58 a.m. the nose was still stuffy, but at least my throat wasn’t quite so sore. I figured I would go ahead and still try to make it to the gym and take my chances.

I got there a bit early- around 5:45 a.m. I got on the treadmill still suffering what can only be described as a severe bout of lassitude– I felt defeated and listless. I was pretty sure I would barely make it through my run. So I turned on my I-pod, cued up the requisite song list and started to walk. I walked for about 6 minutes, which is double my usual warm up period. I was still pretty pessimistic when I started running at the 6 minute mark.

From that point on I agreed with myself that I would run for 4 songs- maybe 5. Looking back I can see that my attitude changed with each song, so it might be easiest to retell the story by recounting each song and the resulting emotions, fatigue, and physical response.

Song 1: Three Days Grace, “Animal I’ve Become.”

As I started running I felt stiff, weak, slow, and pretty doubtful about my chances of even making it through this one song. I knew though that i couldn’t give up without even getting through one out of five songs. So I pushed through fairly miserable.

Song 2: Trapt, “Waiting.”

This part of my run wasn’t much easier than the first. In addition my calves were starting to hurt.

Song 3: Linkin Park, “In the End.”

I didn’t struggle through this part of my run as much as the first two parts. Don’t get me wrong, it was not picnic in the park, but it wasn’t as hard. I also started feeling like I had more energy, not much more, but at least more than I started with.

Song 4: Saliva, “Click, Click, Boom.”

Song 5: Trapt, “Stand Up.”

This is when business started to pick up so to speak. I felt like someone gave me a B12 shot in the butt- not the pain, just the energy. I added some spring in my step and felt less miserable about my run and more hopeful. I had now made it through all 5 songs. Maybe I could run for another 5 songs? Or how about at least another two. I agreed with myself on setting 2 more songs as the new goal.

Song 6: Drowning Pool, “Let the Bodies Hit the Floor.”

Song 7: John Cafferty, “Hearts on Fire.”

Okay, this is when things really started to pick up. I upped my MPH by .5 MPH for each song. At this point my calves had long stopped hurting, my legs were pumping like a well oiled and efficient machine, and my head was in the clouds- runner’s euphoria. If only all running felt like this. It was better than drugs- not that I would know about that. No seriously, I have no clue, except for this experience with runner’s high.

Song 9: Survivor, “Eye of the Tiger.”

Who wouldn’t run ’til they dropped for this song?! I pushed myself and upped the MPH by another .5. I do have to admit that about 30 seconds into this song I was starting to get a little numb in my feet (the soles and toes), so I figured I had pushed myself far enough. I ran until the song ended and then cooled down with 5 minute walk and some ab exercises.

Now I am pretty sure the above list is missing one song. Sadly I left my I-pod in the car, so my memory will have to do. Luckily, for those of you curious about my total numbers for the day here you go:

Time: 47:30 minutes (6 min. walk, 36:30 min. run, 5 min. walk)

Distance: 3.8 miles

Calories Burned: 509

It was a great day that I was sure would turn out horrible. Goes to show you (and me) that you can’t always go by your first instinct. Sometimes you need to push a little and give your body a chance to rise to the occasion.

Comments
  1. Teresa says:

    TT,

    Good work! It is sometimes helpful to just give yourself permission to walk away after ten minutes…it gets you to show up at the run.

    After that, you can negotiate to get yourself up to the required amount of time.

    But the hardest part is getting yourself to just show up. If you can manage that, you’ve won most of the battle!

    Heh. It’s all about the “head fake” sometimes, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. Neil says:

    Hey Mr. Language Person – way to hang in there!

  3. AndrewE says:

    Great! It’s amazing how sometimes a bit of exercise can just shift us out of that rut!

  4. Teresa says:

    Today I let a sleet blizzard stop me from running. 😦

    However, I might be able to drag myself to the gym for a treadmill session after 3 hours of teaching Kung Fu…or maybe not. Depends on how much demonstration I have to do. 🙂

    There’s a guy who runs around here no matter what the weather. He’s insane I wrote about him a long time ago:

    http://www.anomalousdata.com/The+Man+Who+Runs+All+Day.aspx

  5. Stiletto says:

    I’m going to scold you now. Never, never, never do that again. Once you feel sick, fuhgedaboudit!

    My friend’s wife’s ended up needing a kidney transplant after doing a strenuous stretch of cardio while he had the flu. Sad to say, he ended up dying.

  6. Stiletto says:

    I’m sorry, can you correct that for me? My friend’s wife brother.

  7. Wish I could, but now with the new format for wordpress it seems we can’t edit comments.

  8. Stiletto says:

    Really? I wasn’t aware! I shall go take a look!

  9. Neil says:

    You can still edit them, but it is a rather non-intuitive process.

    Go to the Comments page, then click the name of the person who made the comment (e.g., “Stiletto”). This will open the comment and let you edit it.

  10. Neil says:

    P.S. or go to the comments section and click “Edit Comment.” I think that feature went away and is now back.

  11. Good, ’cause lately I’ve been messing up my own comments on my own blog. Things are going downhill. HA! Now I am off to write a paper on the Vietnam war.

Leave a Reply

