Falling in Love with Climbing…

Posted: March 18, 2008 in fitness, health, Me, weight, Weight Fat Loss, weight gain loss, Weight loss
Tags: , ,

As I clung to that climbing wall my forearms were so tired and filled with blood that I could barely close them around even the largest grips on the wall.   I have now felt a pain and pleasure distinct from any I’ve ever felt in the weight room.  I don’t think it is an exaggeration, neither is it too early, to admit that I am now addicted to rock climbing.

My results were not great, I failed to conquer the beginner wall (but only by one arms length or a little more).  In my defense I had already worked out that morning- and broke a bench press record on the bi-angular bench with a 250 lb bench press.   I can’t wait to return next week to conquer that wall and move on to the intermediate climbing wall.

Comments
  1. Sara says:

    Welcome to the insanity that is a rock climbing addiction. It’s one of those things that’s both healthy and unhealthy at the same time. I envy the folks who can climb on occasion without “becoming rock climbers…” that wasn’t my path. I jumped into the pool about three and a half years ago, and have been swept away ever since. Life and work decisions revolve, to a great degree, around my climbing addiction… hopefully, being a devoted husband and father will help keep the monkey in check for you.

    Huge congrats on all of the work that you’ve done and are going to continue to do. Take it slowly, getting into climbing … your muscles (especially if you’ve been weight training) develop much more quickly than your mind and your tendons… so give your mind and tendons time to catch up. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

