After driving through the dismal rain that accompanied my usual 4 a.m. sojourn, I finally got to the parking deck. For the first time in a long time I had to make the long walk to the gym in the rain- my umbrella left neglected in the hall closet was of no assistance. As I trudged through the mud in my running shoes and felt the cold (very cold) rain soaking through my sneakers all I wanted to do was go back to my car and sleep another two hours. By the time I finally convinced myself to work out I had finally reached the campus recreation center and my miserable walk was over.

I stuck to my usual routine: multi-joint resistance training, running intervals, and a short additional cardio/agility routine at the end. For all my worrying and wishing I was still asleep, when I left the gym I felt 100 times better than when I woke up this morning. My step moved with more confidence, my lungs breathed easier, I felt the cold and damp rain less, and most importantly, I felt like I could take on the world.

Whatever my fat loss is come Sunday, I really won’t be bothered. I’ve reaped benefits far beyond my initial expectations.

Comments
  1. Angie says:

    Good for you! yep everything takes discipline, gosh darn it! So much easier to roll over or say ‘I’ll do it tomorrow’ then somehow tomorrow never comes until we are committed!
    Applause to ya! 🙂

  2. rand says:

    I’ve not been blogging for some time due to several factors and now checking back in with things. Great to read about your fitness progress. Congratulations.

  3. rjtumble says:

    Hi John,

    It’s funny, I had the same kind of experience a few days ago, I wonder if we walked through the same storm on different days. When I came out of the gym, the rain had let up and it had warmed up a little bit. You’re right, the feeling after the workout is great. Accomplishment mixed with a physical change, it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

