Well, as I promised, here is a brief description of what I did yesterday to expand my workout and bring in cardio.

Step 1: I cut my resistance training routine from 11 to 7 exercises.

Step 2: There’s no avoiding running

Step 3: Beyond the Treadmill (Must Read!)

Click Below to Read More…

Step 1: I cut out the single-joint exercises that had creeped into my routine along with the redundant exercises that served little purpose. I get the same pump, with less time, just as much stimulus for muscle growth, and more energy left in my tank for the impending cardio session.

Step 2: If there is anything that my weight gain and subsequent plateau of the last two months has taught it is this simple lesson, you can’t avoid running if you plan on shedding pounds. Running is one of the best cardio exercises going, especially when performed as an interval training session that alternates walking or slow jogs with short bursts of intensity and speed.

Step 3: The newest addition to my workout is an interval session that I plan on changing up frequently and using to conclude my workout several times a week. It is really quite simple to do, just pick 5 exercises that involve a significant cardio challenge. Here is my list:

Jump Rope, Sprints, Grape Vines, Mountain Climbers, and Jumping Jacks.

I performed the exercises in order, one after the other, for two circuits, with about 30-45 seconds of rest in between. The only exception are the sprints, in which case I sprinted across the gym and then, once my toes touched the black out of bounds like I gentled jogged backwards until I reached the other out of bounds line and sprinted again.

Now, since using a watch to time yourself during the exercise portion can be difficult (it is hard to check your watch while twirling a jump rope), just set some goals that will take about 60-90 seconds to accomplish. For example:

Jump Rope = 100-150 revolutions.

Sprints = 6 – 8 sprints.

Grape Vines = 6 – 8 time across the gym length wise.

Mountain Climbers = 30-40 repetitions with each leg.

Jumping Jacks = 50 – 70 repetitions.

The important thing to remember is to KEEP MOVING! When you rest between exercises walk around the gym, or march in place, just keep moving.

I hope this is helpful to all you guys. I did this routine Monday morning at 6 a.m. (I woke up at 4 a.m.), and it kept me going until I got home at 10:45 at night. I had more energy during the day yesterday than I have in a long time.

Comments
  1. Fat Man says:

    Cool workout, as long as you keep moving, the heart pumping will burn!!!

  2. Angel says:

    Keep it up!..results are grand aint they!:)

Leave a Reply

