Some Bad News…

Posted: January 9, 2008 in health

I just got back from my cholesterol screening with some less than encouraging news.  First, I must say that I don’t know if this is any worse or better than the last time I had my cholesterol checked.  I don’t remember what those numbers were as the test was over two years ago.

Whatever I scored last time around, the numbers this go around were disappointing to say the least.  My total cholesterol level was a borderline 193.  To make matters worse my HDL was only 39, and my LDL was up to 142.  The silver lining to this cloud is that my triglycerides were only 57 and my blood glucose was a respectable 75.

Needless to say I am a bit disheartened by this news.  However, I plan on doing everything I can to improve these numbers.  Moreover, I will retest two months from now to check for any improvement in any one (or more) of these areas.  Wish me the best and keep me in your prayers as I try to improve this important indicator of my overall health.

Comments
  1. TT,

    Wow. That’s tough. I hope that things improve. Is there a genetic issue going on there?

    Best of luck. Eat lots of olive oil.

  2. SLIMJIM says:

    I just read this…wonder about my own health with my laziness…
    I need to be healthy…
    shooting out a prayer for you tonight my friend…
    Slim Jim

  3. Steve v4.6 says:

    You’re a wise man to get it checked. Do you and your doctor have a plan to get it under control? Please don’t be discouraged- instead, get determined. All my prayers and best wishes are with you for your improvement.

  4. Thanks for the encouragement Steve. And yes we do have a plan. I will retest in two months to check for any progress.

  5. […] I will be heading over in a week or two to get a cholesterol screening.  I hope it turns out better than the last one.  (For last years very scary cholesterol screening results click here) […]

Leave a Reply

