A Super Healthy and Tasty Way to Start Your Day

Posted: January 8, 2008 in eat, fat, fat blogging, Food, health, healthy food, weight, Weight Fat Loss, Weight loss

Start with a 1/2 cup serving of Kashi’s Honey Almond Flax Go Lean Crunch…

Kashi Crunch

Add a 1/2 cup serving of U.S. Mill’s Uncle Sam cereal with flax seed…

Uncle Sam cereal

And crush up two pieces of Hershey’s Extra dark 60% cocoa dark chocolate squares

Hershey’s

This combo provides you with approximately:

10 grams of protein

12 grams of dietary fiber (4 g soluble, 8 g insoluble)

2.5 grams of fat (the good kinds). The Chocolate adds some saturated fats to the mix, but it is worth it for the taste and the flavanols. [W/ Chocolate about 8 g fat]

Try it out! It will get you started in the morning AND it will keep your engines running well into the day.

Comments
  1. theepiphany says:

    Yum, that looks like a good incentive for eating healthy first thing in the morning (especially with the chocolate!!)

  2. It is actually much tastier than it sounds. The honey almond flax cereal is tasty, the flax seed cereal is pretty tasteless, and the chocolate is, well, it is chocolate. Combine and you have something that is both good tasting and good for you. All three can be purchased at Wal-mart.

  3. Neil says:

    Kashi has good stuff. I like their lightly sweetened shredded what, among other things.

  4. Great to know. 🙂 I’m on a high-fiber diet, so I’ll need to eat this stuff basically all day, every day. 😦

  5. Cynthia says:

    I have to ask why go with only a 60% dark chocolate? Why not go with say, a healthier Lindt 85% chocolate. More fiber, less sugar… more antioxidants.

    Personally though, I think people would be better off with a nice serving of steel cut oats or rolled oats than processed cereals. That way you totally control the sugar. And for additional protein, mixing some whey protein in milk to top your oats is very tasty!

    Me, I don’t do cereal for breakfast very often. I prefer a nice big omelet made of mostly egg whites, a little reduced fat cheese and a couple cups of veggies. I need more protein than just 10g for breakfast.

  6. “Me, I don’t do cereal for breakfast very often. I prefer a nice big omelet made of mostly egg whites, a little reduced fat cheese and a couple cups of veggies. I need more protein than just 10g for breakfast.”

    When I have the time I prefer egg whites, turkey bacon, 100% whole wheat bread, and a heaping mound of spinach and tomatoes, but I rarely have the time as I am on the road and on campus from 4. a.m. until 11 p.m. Hence the cereal. The cereal packs easy, doesn’t require refrigeration, and doesn’t make a mess.

    As for the the choice of chocolate. If I could afford it I would go with the dark chocolate made by Sweet Perfection:

    https://totaltransformation.wordpress.com/2007/06/27/my-immitation-all-natural-sugar-came-today/

    http://lowcarbspecialties.com/

    But for what I can afford and find on the shelf at Wal-mart (or anywhere out here in the country) the Hershey’s 60% and 70% brands are the best available.

    My goal is putting together these lists is to cobble together the healthiest stuff that the majority of folks could find on the shelves of their local Wal-mart, Kroger, or Harris Teeter. Especially us folks living in the country a half an hour or more from a GNC or Whole Foods.

    Thanks for dropping by and commenting. Best of wishes with your fitness journey.

Leave a Reply

