Looking for Environmentally and Economically Sound Ideas…

Posted: December 4, 2007 in environment, ideas, question

My wife and I hope to build our new (and final) house about three to five years from now.  So we decided this week to start stockpiling ideas to make our home both environmentally AND economically sound.  I invite, no I implore, you to add comments with links to any neat ideas- nothing is too far out.

What is my contribution to this discussion, you ask.   What about a toilet with two buttons, one button for when you do #1 the other for all your #2 needs.  Neat, eh?

dual flush toilet

So tell me what you know/think!  And don’t hold back now.

Comments
  1. abarclay12 says:

    You know I am a toilet expert. If you’re not going to get the lovers toilet, then I guess getting one of those new “smart” toilets would be good. These toilets decipher what can be recycled from your Number 2’s. Excuse my crass speak, but if there’s corn or gum in there, then the toilet will set it aside in a special compartment, clean it, and then you can have it back to cook with or eat. I think it’s genius.

  2. That is disgusting but ingenious.

  3. arclightzero says:

    Kinda reminds me of the Navy mantra while out to sea… If it’s pee, let it be, if it’s brown, flush it down 🙂

  4. Here’s something for inspiration:
    http://www.cowboysindians.com/articles/archives/1202/bush.html

    The resulting single-story ranch house, which was built by members of a religious community from the nearby community of Elm Mott, is a paragon of environmental planning.

    The passive-solar house is built of honey-colored native limestone and positioned to absorb winter sunlight, warming the interior walkways and walls of the 4,000-square-foot residence. Geothermal heat pumps circulate water through pipes buried 300 feet deep in the ground. These waters pass through a heat exchange system that keeps the home warm in winter and cool in summer.

    A 25,000-gallon underground cistern collects rainwater gathered from roof urns; wastewater from sinks, toilets, and showers cascades into underground purifying tanks and is also funneled into the cistern. The water from the cistern is then used to irrigate the landscaping around the four-bedroom home. Laura Bush insisted on the use of indigenous grasses, shrubs, and flowers to complete the exterior treatment of the home.

    I love George Bush. 🙂

  5. “Geothermal heat pumps circulate water through pipes buried 300 feet deep in the ground. ”

    What happens when one of those pipes breaks? “Well sir, I’ll have to tunnel down 300ft and fix that leak. Should only be about 4,000 dollars” HA!

  6. 1. Make pipes that don’t break.

    2. Learn to tunnel yourself. Aren’t you all about good workouts? 🙂

    3. Consider it irrigation. 😉

  7. Scott says:

    It always amazes me when I realise that some countries still don’t use the dual-flush toilets – they’re very much the norm here (and you should see the ‘green’ options).

    On a serious note, what are your goals for the house? My idea of an environmentally-friendly house is completely self-sustainable, so you won’t have any power or water bills at all. There are a number of ways you can achieve this quite easily.

    The benefit? Much cheaper to run. The downside? It may cost a little more up-front.

  8. “On a serious note, what are your goals for the house? My idea of an environmentally-friendly house is completely self-sustainable, so you won’t have any power or water bills at all. There are a number of ways you can achieve this quite easily.”

    That is my idea. But I am willing to take things that fall short of that in case we don’t have the capital. I especially want to know the things that need to be done pre-construction that can’t be done post-construction. Did that make sense?

  9. Mandy says:

    I’m Australian, and the idea of 2 x flushing system in the toilet is all we have in Oz. Is America not the same?

  10. johnisfit says:

    On my recent trip to Europe my hotel rooms in both Paris and Munich had the dual flush toilets. (But no bidets, I was so disappointed. Is there anything better than a bidet?). London was just standard. They are a great idea.

  11. “I’m Australian, and the idea of 2 x flushing system in the toilet is all we have in Oz. Is America not the same?”

    Nope, just one handle and one flush. I’ve never seen a dual flush toilet anywhere but online.

Leave a Reply

