Here are the major changes in my current fitness routine… 

First, I only lift weights twice a week with at least five days in between.

Second, one week per month I skip my weight training OR substitute much lighter workload (possibly single-joint exercises to fortify my weak spots).

Third, I plan on harnessing the power of my mind.  How could I have missed this.  At the least it improves the connection between mind and body, at best (and this was claimed in the recent copy of Mens’ Health) it can actually lead to some muscle growth on its own. WOW! [I recommend buying a copy of this month’s edition].  For more check out this article on visualization and Harnessing Your Mind,

Fourth, I am reintroducing interval training.  I hate cardio, but at least intervals keep my changing pace, burn more calories in less time, and allow me to occasionally run fast than 5 m.p.h. 

Fifth, I will incorporate some HIIT traininginto my cardio days (which will be 3-4 days each week)- I mean beyond just the treadmill intervals (see this for details).

I will take all my official measurements tonight and tomorrow morning, and test this for 2 months (retaking measurements only at the half way mark and the end).  I look forward to seeing how this turns out.

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    Thanks for the links – I’ll check those out.

  2. […] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptMajor Changes in My Fitness Routine Posted on November 29, 2007 by totaltransformation Here are the major changes in my current fitness routine…  First, I only lift weights twice a week with at least five days in between. Second, one week per month I skip my weight training OR substitute much lighter workload (possibly single-joint exercises to fortify my weak spots). Third, I plan on harnessing the power of my mind.  How could I have missed this.  At the least it improves the connection […]

  3. abarclay12 says:

    Good job man. Keep it going. I want to know how the mind training goes.

  4. […] others: Tammi, Tieki, Total Transformation, and anyone else whose moniker begins with “T.”  The Queen of Swords should give […]

  5. Lady Rose says:

    your workouts are so inspiring! you should have the theme for the “rocky” movie playing on your blog hehehe

    FYI: I’ve added a way to automaticately add links to posts on the Sat. Miracle of Scales (celebrating health, fitness and diet successes) – feel free to add a post (links will be permanent).

  6. Lady Rose says:

    Good morning – stop by and pick up your blog award (Bloggers with Integrity).

  7. […] others: Tammi, Tieki, Total Transformation, and anyone else whose moniker begins with “T.”  The Queen of Swords should give has […]

  8. Brooklyn says:

    Hey nice blog. Hope your training will turn out to be good. All the best.

  9. […] Regarding re-dedication, here is a short list: back before the first too tight shirt challenge, major changes in my fitness routine, back when I was approaching 165 lbs, the weight loss challenge, the first too tight shirt […]

  10. Mikaella V says:

    Hey! Nice article. Hope your instruction will help me out . Keep up your good work.

Leave a Reply

