Kris asked, “[most high and exalted John] what is ur take on creatine, and i know ur goin to be competing in ninja warrior, and i would like to know how did u go about doing it, as i myself would like to compete in the tournament.”

I’ll do my best to answer both questions…

First, as Rick James once said, creatine is a hell of a drug- or maybe he was talking about cocaine.  Either way, it is an expensive but relatively safe way to gain a minor edge in the weight room.  It won’t make you grow muscle overnight, although it will make you retain water.  So don’t be surprised by the scale showing a weight gain even after you’ve cut back on food, that’s just the extra water inside your body is storing in your muscle cells.

Bottom line, the creatine will help you pound out a few extra reps you might otherwise not have achieved, it will keep you going an extra few minutes when your body might have otherwise crashed.

Second, the auditions are run by the production company, and to the best of my knowledge you buy your plane ticket with no guarantee you’ll make it on the show- much less even get an audition.   So the first step is quite simple, either develop an interest in visiting Japan OR make enough money that you don’t mind buying the equivalent of a $700 lottery ticket.

From there I can’t help you since I don’t plan on attempting to audition for the show until this coming summer.   Although, I might suggest getting a Japanese pen pal, that might be helpful (someone to show you around, a place to crash, etc.).  Wait, I think maybe I am going to do that!  See, this is the benefit of when you guys ask me questions.

I hope this helps Kris. If not, please let me know.

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    I almost used Creatine once. I bought some at GNC, then took it back. It might have been a low risk to take it, but at the time there were muscle mags saying it was perfectly safe and other studies saying it wasn’t. I figured with all God had blessed me with I didn’t want to risk my health over vanity. (I really wanted to gain some weight!)

  2. Well, you won’t die from creatine to the best of my knowledge (unless of course it is spike with an actual poison). All creatine is, is a protein. The only reason some people died (and these people were morons) was because they combined creatine with workouts that included extensive sweating and generally poor hydration. I am referring here to wrestlers who were cutting weight. And if you aren’t familiar with the stupid things wrestlers do to cut weight let me inform you of one- running around with trash bags, multiple jackets, and other ridiculously thick heat trapping objects on their bodies for hours on end in an already hot gym.

    Eat too much steak for days straight, don’t drink much water, and sweat out what little you have in your body and you’ll die from that as well.

    So I wouldn’t worry about taking the dosage recommended on the labels of the reputable brands (EAS, Twinlab, etc.). Just drink your 8 0 12 cups of water a day- after all you should be doing that anyway. I don’t take the stuff because I don’t think the edge is worth the money, but I don’t think it is in anyway dangerous.

  3. […] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptAsk John… Posted on November 27, 2007 by totaltransformation Kris asked, “[most high and exalted John] what is ur take on creatine, and i know ur goin to be competing in ninja warrior, and i would like to know how did u go about doing it, as i myself would like to compete in the tournament.” I’ll do my best to answer both questions… First, as Rick James once said, creatine is a hell of a drug- or maybe he was talking about cocaine.  Either way, it is an expensive but relatively safe way to […]

  4. Stiletto says:

    I get all my creatine from red meat since I eat tons of it. I know, bad, right? But I just can’t help myself. Plus I drink tons of red wine so — I figure I’m offsetting plaque buildup on my arteries with grapes! lol

    Hey, those Frenchies do know something, right?

    My trainer doesn’t recommend it, otherwise, I would have taken the creatine plunge.

  5. Stiletto says:

    PS – What is this ninja warrior thing? Did I miss something here?

  6. I guess you did miss something Stiletto…to catch up check out the following link…

    https://totaltransformation.wordpress.com/2007/05/23/training-for-ninja-warrior/

Leave a Reply

