I hate gimmicky diets!  Low-Carb, no carb, low fat, high fat, grapefruits only, whatever, they all serve one purpose- to make some schmuck who wrote a book rich.  Eventually, I hope to be that book writing schmuck.  But for now I have no book.  What I do have is a wife with relatives that swear by the “South Beach Diet”- isn’t the pretentious name alone enough to make you gag?

So, as an act of marital love (akin to watching a boring chick flick times 1000) I’ve agreed to do South Beach with her for at least one month.  So what is South Beach?  Think Atkins but more veggies and a bit less steak.  I get two weeks of pretty much just veggies and protein, then I am “allowed” to reintroduce whole wheat and such.  You aren’t even allowed to eat fruit during the first two weeks.  Does that sound healthy to you?  I thought so.  But oh well, I will try it and report back to you.

This is day one of South Beach for me.  For breakfast I had one of those brand name South Beach breakfast bars and about five strips of turkey bacon.  I was able to make it through my time in the gym with a fairly decent workout and some pretty intense leg exercises.  My meals for the rest of the day include turkey breast on greens and whatever my wife makes for dinner tonight.  Wish me luck and pray for me.  HA!

Comments
  1. Kristen says:

    Good luck with South Beach! I did that for a while, but had a hard time sticking with it because of how regimented and restricted it was. That is why I LOVE the Body for Life way of eating. If you (or your wife) haven’t looked into Body for Life, I would HIGHLY recommend it, as it is fairly simple to follow, it is healthy, and there is a workout program that works wonders. Anyway, again, good luck!! There is a TON of South Beach recipes on one the South Beach forum site. Worth the time!

  2. Neil says:

    Hope it works. I knew some folks that did Atkins, lost a bunch of weight, eventually gained it back and gained health problems to go with it.

  3. cavmom says:

    I can’t wait to hear how it turns out for you. I have avoided the South Beach diet based on the name alone. (goofy huh?)For now I am sticking with the old school method: exercise and moderation in portion size.

  4. lifelemons says:

    Dear Lord! Good luck with the diet! I have never been one for the “fad diets” but at least you are willing to give it a go!

  5. Steve v4.6 says:

    I’m with you on the fad diets- though friends all around me are losing weight with them. I have a friend who lost 80+ lbs. on that diet. He hit his goal about 3 months ago and hasn’t gained anything back (yet). Another couple went the Fit for Life route, lost about the same and are now “Fitness Consultants” in that MLM. I had to start my own thing in self defense- just moderation and exercise is what’s doing it for me. Eating an FDA-recommended balance of foods with regular exercise works.

  6. My husband and I have followed the South Beach diet at times (strictly during some times and loosely at others) and have liked it. My husband lost 20 pounds on it pretty quickly when we first started it. Like one of your other commenters mentioned though, it is kind of hard to stick to – especially if you have children that need a little more than it tells you to eat. 😉 That’s kind of why we just loosely follow it – like trying to eat very little sugar and starchy foods and eating more protein. I hope you guys are successful with it! 🙂

  7. 4newbies says:

    you should be able to do fine. it does work if you stick to it.

  8. […] A blogger put some good thought into The Joys of Marriage and Weight Loss Mixed… TotalTransformationTestA small overview […]

Leave a Reply

