The Appropriate Use for Single-Joint Exercises

Posted: November 5, 2007 in Exercise, fitness

I wrote a great post on multi-joint exercises the other week.  In that post I recommended cutting all single joint exercises out of your workout program.  Now it is time to state the exception to the rule.  And this exception is pretty important.

I recently discovered that I have a bit of an issue with my shoulder.  I am pretty sure it is rotator-cuff related.  So I’ve included two special movements to strengthen the muscles in that area so they are strong enough to keep up with my shoulder presses.

So today’s lesson: You an use single-joint exercises to shore up weak spots that are holding you back.  

Comments
  1. Israel says:

    going back on ya word huh?

  2. Nope. This is only temporary until my shoulder catches up. It is only one shoulder too. Darn thing. I injured it back when I wrestled, given me problems ever since.

  3. […] totaltransformation placed an interesting blog post on The Appropriate Use for Single-Joint Exercises.Here’s a brief overview:I wrote a great post on multi-joint exercises the other week. In that post I recommended cutting all single joint exercises out of your workout program. Now it is time to state the exception to the rule. And this exception is pretty … […]

  4. […] totaltransformation placed an observative post today on The Appropriate Use for Single-Joint Exercises.Here’s a quick excerpt:In that post I recommended cutting all single joint exercises out of your workout program. Now it is time to state the exception to the rule. And this exception is pretty important. I recently discovered that I have a bit of an issue … […]

Leave a Reply

