Glad to Be Alive

Posted: October 25, 2007 in attitude, blessings, blogging, challenge, faith, fear

I drove home through what had to be the worst storm I’ve ever driven in for almost two hours last night !  The rain was falling in sheets, it was pitch black, I couldn’t even see the reflectors in the road (much less the white lines).  The best I could do was line up my car with the brake lights in front of me.  At one point I (and pretty much everyone around me)  was driving 25 m.p.h. on I-40.

I really wasn’t sure whether I could keep my car on the road or not.  For 95 minutes with only maybe 5 minutes of slacking in the rain I sat tensely hunched over the steering wheel praying without ceasing and squinting as hard as I could to try and make out the white lines in the road.

By the way, have I ever told you the two things I hate most in this world?  First, driving in the rain.  Second, driving at night.  To have the two combined was a real treat.

Thank God I made it home in one piece!

Comments
  1. lifelemons says:

    Thank God in deed! I too hate both of the afore-mentioned driving conditions!

  2. Thankfully, you’re still with us!

    I had the same experience when I drove back from California. Tropical Storm Erin really threw me for a loop. Pretty much the same thing: 200 miles of driving at 50-60 mph (so many trucks, I didn’t want to go slower), lining up my car with the brake lights in front of me. I didn’t want to pull over, because 1) I couldn’t see the break down lane; and 2) getting rear-ended would have sucked. For the same reasons, I didn’t pull off the road.

    Yes, I-40 in the rain is not a treat. My condolences. (At least I had the Queen of Swords to make me a 6 am cocktail when I arrived at her abode.)

  3. jarvis says:

    Amen! That is intense! …keep breathing bro, I prefer you that way 🙂

    Cheers!

  4. Daniel says:

    My greatest fear when it comes to driving is driving at night without my glasses. To say the least everything would be a blur. Glad you made it through okay though.

    Daniel

Leave a Reply

