I pushed past a mile on the treadmill alternating between 5.5 miles/hour and 7.5 miles/hour.  I felt spent after that but the weight stacks were still sending our their sirens call. 

I started by pushing my legs to the limit by alternating prisoner jumping squats with 240 lbs squats.  You’ve never seen how high you can jump until you’ve jumped after a set of squats at full intensity.   Then I tried a new exercise, a combination of chin-ups and knee ups.  It is a regualr chin-up except for that when you reach the top of the range of motion you do a knee-up, then let your knees down and return to the starting position.  They were WICKED hard!  After a set of pull-downs, side planks, and leg lifts my shoulders, lats, and abs were not happy.  I closed out with some arm and shoulder movements and beat feet to the stationary bike.

I pedaled fast enough to be challenged, but slow enough so my heart rate could drop from 168.  After about two minutes I was down to 135 bpm.  I finished out a half a mile and hit the steam room.

All in all I feel pretty good.  My body really needs this weekend to rest, because I have diabolical plans for Monday.  HA!

Comments
  1. johnisfit says:

    Thanks for posting details like your speed, it’s good to see that. I’m currently alternating between 3.0 mph and 5.0 mph so I have a way to go! Still, at 5.0 that’s a 12 minute mile and given my current fitness level that’s the pace I am targetting for my first 5k. Still in the first week of the couch to 5k, although now that I am at the pace I need I think I’m going to spend the next couple of weeks getting up to 36 minutes instead of the 25 I am at now and then I’ll be ready for week 2. Damn this is slow, but slow and steady is the way for me right now.

  2. “Damn this is slow, but slow and steady is the way for me right now.”

    I know how you feel. I hate running because it takes so long to build up a solid base. Thank God for intervals! Burn more calories and allow me the ego boost of seeing a higher speed on the treadmill speed indicator.

  3. Intervals are an incredible technique to use as it puts a different stress on the body unlike running at the same speed the whole time. I love to intervals and encourage everyone to give it a shot to improve fitness level, achieve weight loss and feel better faster after a workout. P.S. – My intervals are going from speed 6mph to 10mph one minute each and repeat. It kicks my butt in 10 minutes.

  4. Once upon a time, I could sustain about 8 mph for a half-marathon. Now I’m old and slow. 😉

    What are the evil plans for Monday? World domination?

  5. “What are the evil plans for Monday? World domination?”

    No. I’ll leave that to G.W.B.

    My evil plans involve abusing my body in a most healthy manner. Moving large amounts of weight over and over again.

  6. Israel says:

    hmm, intervals you say? how long should a beginning intervaler like myself start at? I am pretty heavy, topping the scales at 328 lbs (down from 340). so how long should I do it for and what are good speeds to begin with?

  7. I wouldn’t say to definitely check with an M.D. Intervals are hard on the heart, and probably shouldn’t be attempted without at least a minimal baseline of stamina/endurance.

    When I first started I kept my intervals shorts (about 30 seconds) and my periods between long and slow (about 2 minutes, and walking pace [3.0 mph]). Also, when I started, I only did intervals once a week. Although, I think the body-for-life program suggest using intervals pretty much every time you run.

  8. Miche says:

    “What are the evil plans for Monday? World domination?”

    No. I’ll leave that to G.W.B.

    That’s funny!

    I popped by to say thanks for your comment at my site. I checked out your “about” page and wow! what progress you are making.

    When I started working out a few years ago, it was due to vanity. Fitness and looking good was easy in my twenties but when I reached my thirties, I found that I’d gone from 128 lbs. to 136lbs. and was looking too soft. I could barely run a mile then, but now I do 3-6 miles a day depending on my weight training schedule. For example, if I’m doing a hard-core leg workout, I will do a slow jog/walk 3 miles to the gym, work out, and then walk home. On upper body days, I run 3-4 miles doing intervals of 5.5 to 8 mph.

    Today, working out is more about feeling good than looking good and getting to to the gym is no longer a chore, but a matter of habit. Good luck on your path.

  9. Israel says:

    thanks for the info. i began doing intervals and its awesome. it reminds me of how much stamina i have!

Leave a Reply

