Frustrated by my inability to hit 159lbs, I am thinking of beginning my bulking up phase earlier than expected. I think I will wait and see how the next goes.

Monday’s workout will be a tough one. Up at 4:30 a.m. to make the 2 hour drive to Greensboro. A crack of dawn run at 6:30 from the parking deck to the Student Recreation Center.  I like to end my run by running the steps outside the fitness center- about 40 in all up a steep incline.  Then a hard workout- as I’ve given my body about 5 days off. When I say hard workout I mean this:

Leg press: [goal] 12 reps@ 270lbs

Squats: [goal] 6 reps@ 180lbs

Chin-ups: [goal] 10

Leg Lifts: [goal] 12

Push-ups: [goal] 50

Reverse Rows: [goal] 20

Pull-down Rows: [goal] 8 reps@ 180lbs

Knee-ups: [goal] 12 reps

Bench Press: [goal] 8 reps@ 210lbs

Dips: [goal] 10 reps

Tricep Push-down: [goal] 7 reps @ 100 lbs

Bicep Curl: [goal] 9 reps @ 90 lbs

Side planks: [goal] 3 reps (each side) @ 20 seconds each.

I ALWAYS start out with legs. Why? Because leg exercises (like squats) are the most anabolic. They get the blood and the testosterone flowing better than any other exercise I can think of. They bring in pretty much every major muscle group and focus on the largest muscle groups in your body- the muscles in your legs.

I will update this post with my actual accomplishments come Monday. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Comments
  1. johnisfit says:

    Boy, it’s going to be a long time before I hit weights like that, pretty impressive. Do you do multiple sets of these?

  2. “Do you do multiple sets of these?”

    Usually no. One set to failure, no more than 12 reps is the usual rule.

    I will only do a second set if I realize I used too little weight and can easily do more than 12 reps. I aim for 6-8 reps per exercise.

    I do like to work on muscular endurance though with exercises like push-ups and reverse rows. And with my leg presses I have to do 12 reps because the machine doesn’t have anymore plates.

  3. Neil says:

    Excellent workout routine! Good luck with it. Those are some serious weights.

  4. Angel says:

    ah yes I just did my weights..ugh..lol:)

  5. kim says:

    Thanks for the comment!

  6. Israel says:

    wow, your a machine!!! awesome workout.

  7. Wait until you see Monday’s workout.

  8. mens health says:

    What a motivator you are for me. I was up at 6 a.m. to run 12 km’s but haven’t hit the weights like you have in my own routine yet. Great blog….Di

  9. Thanks brother. Appreciate the kind comments.

  10. […] A Creative Journal wrote an interesting post today on Turning a New Cornerâ¦Here’s a quick excerptTurning a New Corner… Posted by totaltransformation on September 9th, 2007 Frustrated by my inability to hit 159lbs, I am thinking of beginning my bulking up phase earlier than expected. I think I will wait and see how the next goes. Monday’s workout will be a tough one. Up at 4:30 a.m. to make the 2 hour drive to Greensboro. A crack of dawn run at 6:30 from the parking deck to the Student Recreation Center.  I like to end my run by running the steps outside the fitness center- about 40 in a […]

Leave a Reply

