It’s been a while since someone asked, but I finally got around to it.  Over the next week or two I will be posting reviews on protein bars.  I have selected five brands, all of which are available at Wal-mart.  After all, no sense in me reviewing bars you can’t find anywhere.

The competitors are….

Snickers Marathon Protein Bar: 290 calories; 9g fat; 40g carbs (11g fiber, 20g sugar); 21g protein. Caramel Nut Rush.

PowerBar Protein Plus:  290 calories; 6g fat; 37g carbs (2g fiber, 18g sugar); 23 protein.  Chocolate Crisp.

Meso-Tech Complete:  340 calories; 9g fat; 40g carbs (1g fiber, 26g sugar); 25g protein.  Cookies & Cream.

ThinkThin:  240 calories; 8g fat; 27g carbs (1g fiber, 15 sugar alcohol); 20g protein.  Chocolate fudge and Brownie Crunch.

MLO Sports Nutrition EXTREME: 370 calories; 8g fat; 44g carbs (2g fiber, 29g sugar); 30g protein (W/ 5g Creatine).  Peanut Butter.

Now to see how they taste.  I have a feeling this will be an interesting experience.

Comments
  1. Lady Rose says:

    I’d happily send you a sample of the Extend Bars – they are hands down the best made protein bar.
    They have the most protein for the least calories out there – but more importantly they are specially made to keep your blood sugar stable for up to 9 hours. NO other bar does that. It really does help to control hunger a LOT. Plus it is great for any one who is insulin resistanct or diabetic.

  2. Sure thing, drop me an e-mail and I will send you my address.

    totaltransformation (@) yahoo (.)com

  3. tam says:

    Thanks for stopping by this morning. Your comment was funny – in a shameful kind of way, because I must admit – I have dumped on people who have asked how I was when i knew they really didn’t want to know. Very satisfying 😉

    It’s awesome to see you progress! Question? I have lupus and my joints are the biggest prob for me. I am not over weight but I am losing muscle due t lack of exercise…do you have any suggestions?

  4. krislinatin says:

    careful of the bars that have sugar alcohol in them, or be by the bathroom….
    i’m just saying 🙂

  5. “do you have any suggestions?”

    That is a definite question for a doctor- since I know next to nothing about Lupus.

    Why not check out these sites…

    http://webrheum.bham.ac.uk/barc/ConnectiveTissue/Lupus/Aboutme.htm

    http://babyboomeradvisorclub.wordpress.com/2007/08/05/lupus-and-exercise/

    and

    http://www.lupuslinks.org/Seehorn/right_moves_article.htm

    Hope these help.

  6. tam says:

    Wow! Thank you so much! I really liked the Baby Boomer site. It’s for 50+ people – but the post on Lupus was extremely helpful. I really appreciate you getting these links for me! It really did help!

  7. Glad to be of service. It is always an honor and privilege to help. If you have any more questions feel free to ask. And please keep me updated to let me know how things turn out with your new workouts.

  8. Gayle says:

    You’re going to eat all those protein bars? Ech! Have fun! 🙂

  9. “You’re going to eat all those protein bars? Ech! Have fun!”

    I am doing this for your guys. Taking one for the team.

  10. cbgrace says:

    Okay, I’m not huge fan of potien bars (soy…iikk). I tried one for a whle from Soy Revival (I think) it didn’t taste great and it messed with me. What I do like is one Herbalife has…they have one that is peanut butter. It taste really good. My husband says the texture is like chewing gum (pretty chewy) but I like it.

  11. Yeh they are chewy but i love protien bars becausue they are so easy when you cant eat real food

Leave a Reply

