Thanks to all the weight I’ve lost combined with the strength I’ve gained, I can now bench press more that I weigh. This is excellent news. Why? Because your bench press to body-weight ratio is an important number and also a source of a good deal of pride.

My current ratio is 1.07 OR 107%. I am shooting for a 200 lb bench press tomorrow. If I complete that lift my ratio will be 1.19 OR 119%. [To get your ratio divide the weight lifted by your weight.]  My goal is to hit 135% within three months.  Assuming I stay the same weight I would need a 225 lb bench press to accomplish that goal.  I think that is very achievable!

BTW I got a blood pressure and pulse check today. My B/P is 108/65 and my resting pulse was around 70. When I started back in February my B/P was 129/76 and my resting pulse was 79.

Comments
  1. […] to body-weight ratio is an important number and also a source of a …article continues at totaltransformation brought to you by diet.medtrials.info and […]

  2. Neil says:

    Nice progress on the vital signs!

    I had to give up bench presses. They bother my shoulders. But I can do dips with weight instead.

  3. Edgar says:

    Nice Work John. I’m still stuck doing around 14 push-ups. A few years back, I used to do only about 4 so I’m improving!

    Edgar.

  4. Miss T says:

    Wow! You’re making great progress. Congratulations. 🙂 T

  5. Goes to show what we can do with a little determination and drive. Well Done!

  6. “Nice Work John. I’m still stuck doing around 14 push-ups. A few years back, I used to do only about 4 so I’m improving!”

    If you get stuck again you might want to consider doing negatives. After you’ve done all the push-ups you can do get yourself back into the top range of the push-up position and slowly lower yourself (5-10 seconds)- try doing 3-5. That alone helped me make some pretty rapid advances in strength.

  7. Joseph says:

    Cool, awesome news TT.

    Cool, awesome regarding your news! I was not aware of the BP:BW ratio. Now I have something new to shoot for. Egad, I fear that my ratio is no better than 0.3333! :0

    Cheers,
    Joseph

  8. catherineneal2006 says:

    Congrats on both the Bench Press and the Blood Pressure check. Both are very important!

  9. Jay says:

    Hey TT,

    I was wondering what your thoughts are on this particular product? 🙂 http://oldfordroad.wordpress.com/2007/08/21/miracle-breakthrough-in-fitness/

Leave a Reply

