My Run in with Homeland Security Regulations and How it Left me Ticked off…

Posted: August 15, 2007 in America, blogging, change, college, education, end times, fear, hate, homeland security, law, life, Me, my life, News, sarcasm, terrorism, The Law, work

There used to be a day when you could fill out your tax forms and residency forms, hand them in, and things worked out perfectly fine.  However, now thanks to the Department of Homeland Security you MUST complete your I-9 form in front of a human resources representative.  I guess because human resources employees can somehow spot a terrorist?!

So thanks to homeland security, I now have to drive an hour and fifteen minutes round trip (almost a quarter tank of gas- $8 worth) for 2 minutes worth of paperwork.  Isn’t government bureaucracy grand?  NO!  And no, I can’t fill it out on my first day teaching because my class starts on Tuesday and the forms MUST be filled out on the first day of classes- Monday.  If you don’t do that the college can’t hire you.  It’s that convoluted…I mean…simple.

Oh, and by the way, we were told by a representative of the HR department that they ARE NOT allowed to tell us what documents we need to bring with us.  You heard that right. Stupid, isn’t it?  I guess this is like some kind of citizenship documents pop quiz.   I am going on the assumption they need my license and social security card- but I am not ruling out that they may want my birth certificate, blood sample, urine sample, and my D.N.A.

So if you wonder why I am only posting this non-weight loss related blog post today, now you know.  But hey, at least my employer will know I am not some crazy terrorist.

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    What a hassle. I hate unnecessary bureaucracy. I was encouraged that Texas Dept. of Transportation started letting you renew some things online (licenses, renewals). But they charged extra for it! They could use a dose of business sense.

  2. lifelemons says:

    You can bring your ss card and your drivers liscense or your passport. Good luck!

  3. Sounds like the US is catching up with the UK. I’m catching a cold – better fill out my sneeze licence application form … in triplicate … specially absorbent paper so it doesn’t smudge the ink when it comes.

  4. arclightzero says:

    Maybe they just want to make sure you don’t have “jihad” tattooed across your forehead and dynamite strapped to your chest before allowing you to start work.

    I mean, just think of the embarrassment if they let you slip by and you went all jihad on your first day of work. Gosh, would their faces be red…

  5. “I mean, just think of the embarrassment if they let you slip by and you went all jihad on your first day of work. Gosh, would their faces be red…”

    What makes it really silly is that my department chair already had my completed I-9 form and a copy of both my driver’s license and my S.S. card- which he personally copied after seeing the honest to God real forms of I.D.

    So apparently my department head can be trusted to hire me, but not to look for the “I love Jihad” tattoo on my forehead.

  6. arclightzero says:

    Well, that’s the beauty of government. For anything to take place it has to be done by the person officially authorized to do it. Believe me, after five years in the military you really learn how it works. If I had a dime for every time I heard “no, you need to go to so-and-so for such-and-such department even though I could do it for you… I’m just not authorized to do it for you…” I’d be retired.

  7. damewiggy says:

    Ah, what a perfectly flawed system.

  8. Angel says:

    bet they wouldnt ask ya if u were Mussssssslim cuz that would be profiling.ack!!

  9. […] focused on over all health, mind, body and soul. He writes about losing weight, and excercise and Homeland Security… like he did today. The interesting thing about John is that when it comes to weight loss, he […]

Leave a Reply

