Whenever I tried to lose weight in the past I always seemed to fail at the exact same time everyday- after dinner and before bed. Sometime between dinner and bed I would consume enough calories to cancel out any calories I cut during the day. It was never one big thing, but lots of little things. A handful of pretzel sticks, some goldfish (bag kind, not tank kind), a cookie or two, and the list goes on. I couldn’t seem to control my night time urge for these foods. So how do you break that bad habit?

Well here are a few strategies that worked for me. Some allow you to eat, some don’t. See what works for you.

First, consume lots of water during and after dinner. I try to drink somewhere between 4 and 6 cups of water during and after dinner.

Wanna take it to the next level? Try a low calorie (or no calorie) fiber additive like MetaMucil.

Second, keep your produce drawer stocked. So you want to eat, fine, eat some fruit. Grab a peach, a pear, a plum, an apple. You will probably be full long before you take in enough calories to sabotage your weight loss.

Third, exercise at night so you can justify drinking a good protein shake or some delicious tuna before bed.

Fourth, stop staying up so late! If you go to sleep at 9 p.m. then you won’t be eating at 10:30 p.m. Sure, you might have to acknowledge that you are getting older, but so what. Getting to bed earlier makes you feel better, keeps you alert and focused throughout the day, and your body deserves the rest.

Fifth, watch less T.V.  Many people eat while they watch T.V., so find a better evening past time.  Maybe reading?  How about a late walk?  There are tons of healthy things you could be doing instead of sitting on the couch watching television and eating Cheetos.

Sixth, eat three meals and two snacks throughout the day.  This should help control your hunger by the time the day is over.

I hope these help you overcome the evening munchies.

Comments
  1. Joseph says:

    TT:

    As always, thank you for the tips. I’ve resorted to fruits or a protein shake sans the nighttime exercise as my desert options. Sometimes my little ones catch me dozing off well before their 8pm bedtimes.
    Less TV, can not be stressed enough. My lovely wife makes sure of that. For a while, I was her worst enemy! We must be one of just a few households in the USA without cable or a dish. Fox News and ESPN made me an absent husband and father. Besides, reading is fundamental!

    Respectfully,
    Joseph

  2. Kurt says:

    I also think that the natural sugars in fruit are way better that the “normal” sugar we typically use.

  3. […] Conquering the Evening Munchies? Conquering the Evening Munchies? Posted by totaltransformation on August 3rd, 2007 Whenever I tried to lose weight in the past I always seemed to fail at the exact same time everyday- after dinner and before bed. Sometime between dinner and bed I would consume enough calories to cancel out any calories I cut during the day […]

  4. Neil says:

    Good tips. I’m one of those people you love to hate (I have a high metabolism) but I can vouch for this: The hungrier I let myself get the more junk I eat.

    Eat often. Eat before you get too hungry. Eat healthy stuff first. Then you won’t crave the junk. Probably.

  5. Scott says:

    I’m another one with a fast metabolism 🙂 Personally, I find that I’m less inclined to eat whilst using the laptop, reading a book, or anything else where I don’t want crumbs wreaking havoc. #5 is definitely a good one.

  6. epiphanist says:

    The post where you made this comment wasn’t the right place to pursue it.
    “But the much bigger question is the difference of the role of government and the role of individuals. As individuals we are expected to be kind, gracious, loving, and just. But on the other hand government “bears the sword,” and has been set in place by God to maintain security and enforce the law (at least according to Paul). So how do we arrive at an immigration policy that effectively protects the nations borders while allowing individuals to act in a Christian manner? That is the question I still struggle with.

    I think Christianity (especially the Christian left) has a big problem with confusing admonitions against individuals with instructions on governing nations. Governments serve a far different role than individuals and to extrapolate admonitions directed at individual believers to governments is not only bad theology- it can be downright dangerous.”

    The Christian right is Christian wrong! Bush is a war criminal and the people who support him have blood on their hands as well. Ignorant reading of scripture to absolve the American National Interest of blame is a selfish disgrace. You can be a lot better than this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. John Kaiser says:

    “The post where you made this comment wasn’t the right place to pursue it.”

    And this post seems like the right place?

    Furthermore, does my comment anywhere indicate that I “support him [Bush]” and “have blood on [my] hands”?

    “Ignorant reading of scripture to absolve the American National Interest of blame is a selfish disgrace.”

    Where did I mention America? I only mentioned the usual failure of those on the Christian left to distinguish personal admonitions from those relating to government. How you take from that that I support the current administration or its actions is beyond me. Whether the actions of the current administration are correct or not is a much narrowed question than the broader question I brought up on that discussion.

    If you wish to discuss things like this further feel free to email me. I think the link to my email is available on the front page. If not it is jkaiseresquire.yahoo.com. The dot represents an @ symbol- lest my spam editor eat my own comment.

  8. mesablue says:

    I like to snack on sunflower seeds in the shell. The work getting the seeds out slows down how many you can eat and they’re not really high in calories anyway.

  9. titus2woman says:

    This is really good information! and I needed it today. Sadly, I’m NOT doing well in the weight department after having some successes. ~sigh~

    My darling and I used to really enjoy MAD ~LOL! Too bad my computer is too slow for me to load it and laugh…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  10. wayne says:

    hope the weight loss is going well. a 20 months ago I decided to gain weight… not as much info out there. To make it tougher I joined a YMCA at the same time to get my heart in shape.

    so 240 workouts later… I have gained nearly 20 pounds.

    life is strange.

  11. By gain weight I assume you mean gain muscle?

  12. DulceDiana says:

    Hey TT. I’m sorry I’m now tuning into this. I haven’t kept my usual routine…

    All I can say is that we, specially Christians, can not put blame on ANYBODY! We didn’t put our leaders there, ultimately God did, I believe that He is the final authority. The President, today Bush, tomorrow who knows, will give account to God not me or you or the Christian right or left or middle!!!! 🙂

    Let’s do what we are suppose to do…..PRAY!

    http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Romans%2013%20;&version=47;

    Blessings in Christ name,
    D

Leave a Reply

