Germans Say the Craziest Things…

Posted: July 31, 2007 in America, American South, challenge, children, current events, diet, eat, education, fat, fat blogging, fitness, Food, healthy food, kids, life, losing weight fat, News, weight

I was reading the local paper online and came across this interesting story. Of about 21 foreign students (18 from Germany, and 3 from France) visiting the U.S. the one idea they all seemed to hold about Americans, was, well, I’ll let them speak for themselves:

“There are fat people in Germany…but not so many, and not so fat as here.”

And

“There are a lot of fat people in America[.]”

So, the one idea they seemed to all share was that we Americans are quite fat. But to illuminate and illustrate the quality of their assumptions and preconceptions, they also thought Americans:

  1. Own lots of pets (guilty as charged, I own four pets not counting fish).
  2. Live in “huge” houses (well does 1,300 square feet count as big?).
  3. Southerners were more open-minded than Northerners.
  4. Less stressed out.

So judge for yourself.

For my part, I think they have hit the nail on the head. They are observers with a fresh perspective, observers that- with child like candor- have shed light on our peculiar problem as a nation- obesity. What are we going to do about it?

Comments
  1. theepiphany says:

    Hmmm, that’s food for thought. Less stressed out? That’s not what I would have expected. Maybe we should get more stressed out about being too fat…

  2. Neil says:

    We definitely have bigger houses, on average, than most of the West.

    I can’t remember whether the guy was from Pakistan or Thailand, but I liked the quote that said, “I want to go to America, where the poor people are fat.”

  3. Michelle says:

    Southerners were more open-minded than Northerners.

    Is that good or bad? LOL. I’m a northern..from Minn-E-sota. I like the saying “your so open minded your brains have fallen out”. Hmmm…

    As for being fat, well thats probably true. I wonder how many more McDonalds, Burger Kings, and Wendy’s we have over here than in Germany? Probably tons more. America–land of the free!

  4. heaintthroughwithmeyet says:

    We have lots more than in Germany, that is a fact. Since I am also german and live since 1992 in the USA I can honestly agree that the “fat” thing is absolutly true. First of all German people like myself cook more from scratch, and not from all these Tv dinners. We do cook healthier too. (I have to exclude myself from the healthier cooking since I am over here for 15 years and gained a lot of weight) And german people look at you quite differently when your fat. Here in the states people dont judge you if you overweight, you have to be real big that people turn their head over here.

    The houses are bigger, but houses in Germany are much better built than over here, and they way more expensive than over here.

    Also pets…in Germany you have to pay a uearly fee for each pet and it isnt that cheap. Therefore, and probably it is hard to rent property with pets, germans dont have many pets like cats and dogs.

    Thats my two cents 😆

    Love and Blessings
    Andrea

  5. Joni says:

    I just picked up the book “French Women Don’t Get Fat” by Mireille Guiliano. It’s been out for a couple of years. I’m anxious to see the difference of philosophies considering how rich French food is in general and how “diet” American food is.

  6. DulceDiana says:

    Is there something we can do?
    I mean I can account for myself but not the nation. Although the diet thing is a craze right now, how will this really ‘shape’ us as a society?

  7. As a nation, first and foremost, we can promote healthy eating. We don’t need to outlaw McDonald’s, we need to look at our public schools’ and their lunch rooms. We need to encourage parents to feed their children healthy foods, instead of giving them unhealthy convenience foods.

    Those are just two ways we can work as a society to improve these conditions without limiting personal freedom- as the “nanny state” supporters among us wish to do by banning trans fats and fast food (or taxing it heavily).

  8. DulceDiana says:

    yeah, they tried to tax cigarettes too didn’t they?

  9. They did and still do. It dropped the number of smokers a bit, but smoking still persists. And smoking is actually becoming MORE popular recently among young people.

  10. Joseph says:

    I can’t remember whether the guy was from Pakistan or Thailand, but I liked the quote that said, “I want to go to America, where the poor people are fat.”

    The guy is Dinesh Desouza (spelling??) and I believe that he is from India.

    Respectfully,
    Joseph

  11. […] finally, I used to cover news stories of all kinds.  Topics included: Koran flushing, Weird Stuff Germans Say, Dangerous Air Bags, Sharpton’s Collateral Damage, Opinions from my Favorite Lesbian, and the […]

Leave a Reply

